SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1750

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending St. Francis Community High School for winning the 1A state championship at the Kansas Scholastic Press Association state journalism contest.

WHEREAS, St. Francis Community High School was named the class 1A state champion at the Kansas Scholastic Press Association state journalism contest on May 2, 2015; and

WHEREAS, St. Francis Community High School had 24 students competing in the state journalism contest; and

WHEREAS, The competitors consisted of: Mariah Beikman, who took first place in yearbook copy writing; Reagan Beims, who took first place in headline writing and design; McKenzie Taylor, who took second place in advertising; Journey Lee, who took third place in yearbook theme and graphics; Kayla Reed, who took third place in yearbook theme and graphics; Jylian Laten, who took third place in newspaper page design; Erik Nelson, who received an honorable mention in yearbook theme and graphics; Jude Faulkender, who received an honorable mention in academics photography; Michaela Ford, who received an honorable mention in online photo gallery; Wade Jones, who received an honorable mention in sports photography; Clay De Waal, Emily Elfers, Lane Hobrock, Kylie Sherlock, Sydney Sundstrom, Hannah Wolf, Jenna Confer, Hanna Bracelin, Coy De Waal, Jake Faulkender, Jesica Pacheco, Janeth Perez-Medina, Madison Tice and Matthisen Witzel; and

WHEREAS, The teacher and adviser of the journalism program is Brenda Day, whose dedication and passion for teaching is vital to the accomplishments of the St. Francis Community High School journalism program: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend St. Francis Community High School for winning the class 1A state championship at the Kansas Scholastic Press Association state journalism contest. This is a great accomplishment for St. Francis Community High School and the journalism team; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send two enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Ostmeyer.

Senate Resolution No. 1750 was sponsored by Senator Ralph Ostmeyer.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.