SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1758

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Kristin Wright for being named the 2015-2016 Outstanding School Counselor of the Year.

WHEREAS, Kristin Wright was named the 2015-2016 Outstanding School Counselor of the Year by the Kansas School Counselor Association in December 2015. The Outstanding Counselor of the Year is selected on several criteria: School counseling innovations, leadership and advocacy skills, effective school counseling programs and contributions to student advancement; and

WHEREAS, School counselors are professionals who assist all students in social and emotional development, academic achievement and career planning to promote success in school and in life. A few words from a helpful counselor can profoundly impact a student's life by helping improve the student's outlook on school, family and the future; and

WHEREAS, Kristin Wright is the School Counselor at Lincoln Elementary in the Clay County School District and has served as a school counselor for 14 years. Kristin earned a master's degree in counseling from Kansas State University in 2003 and is currently working toward her doctoral degree; and

WHEREAS, Kristin Wright is currently the state nominee for the American School Counselor Association's 2017 National School Counselor of the Year Award: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Kristin Wright for being named the 2015-2016 Outstanding School Counselor of the Year; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send three enrolled copies of this resolution to Kristin Wright.

Senate Resolution No. 1758 was sponsored by Senators Tyson, Abrams, Bowers, Denning, Donovan, Fitzgerald, Haley, Hawk, Kelly, Longbine, Love, Petersen, Pettey, Powell, V. Schmidt, Wilborn and Wolf.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.