SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1759

A RESOLUTION recognizing the Kansas Board of Emergency Medical Services for its work in ensuring that quality out-of-hospital care is available throughout the state of Kansas.

WHEREAS, Emergency Medical Services or "EMS" were established within the state of Kansas in 1974 by the Kansas Legislature. Emergency Medical Services were provided by Mobile Intensive Care Technicians who were specially trained in emergency cardiac and non-cardiac care in a training program certified by the University of Kansas School of Medicine. This training consisted of a minimum of 200 hours and included didactic and clinical experience in a cardiac care unit and in an emergency vehicle unit; and

WHEREAS, Created by SB 297 and approved on April 21, 1975, the Emergency Medical Services Council, under the supervision of the secretary of health and environment, within the state of Kansas was established. The Council was tasked to approve, modify or reject rules and regulations, to review and recommend the allocation and expenditure of funds in the state for EMS and to conduct hearings for all EMS regulatory matters; and

WHEREAS, EMS personnel not certified as mobile intensive care technicians had to complete an 81-hour course on preliminary emergency medical care approved by the University of Kansas Medical Center in order to be granted a certificate; and

WHEREAS, In 1988, the Bureau of Emergency Medical Services and the Emergency Medical Services Council were abolished and all powers were transferred to the current Emergency Medical Services Board; and

WHEREAS, The Emergency Medical Services Board consists of 15 members: 11 appointed by the Governor and four appointed by the Kansas Legislature. Of the 15 appointed positions, three are Kansas physicians engaged in the practice of EMS, three are EMS providers, two are county commissioners, one is a fire services representative, one is a hospital administrator and one is an EMS educator. Those currently appointed to the Board are: Dr. Joel Hornung (Chair) – Morris County; Chad Pore (Vice-Chair) – Butler County; Dr. Martin Sellberg – Sedgwick County; Dr. David Kingfisher – Shawnee County; John Ralston – Seward County; Deborah Kaufman – Sheridan County; Jeri Smith – Cowley County; Keith Olsen – Brown County; Ricky James – Linn County; Dennis Franks – Neosho County; Shane Pearson – Saline County; Senator Oletha Faust-Goudeau – Sedgwick County; Senator Mitch Holmes – Stafford County; Representative Broderick Henderson – Wyandotte County and Representative Susie Swanson – Clay County; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Board of EMS is located in Topeka, Kansas, under the administration of Joseph House, paramedic and acting Executive Director, who performs the role of the chief office administrator for the EMS Board. The Executive Director has appointed 13 staff members to assist in carrying out the functions of the Emergency Medical Services Board; and

WHEREAS, Kansas EMS currently consists of four levels of out-of-hospital providers: Emergency Medical Responder (EMR), Emergency Medical Technician (EMT), Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT) and Paramedic. In addition to providing medical transportation of the sick and injured, these highly skilled and trained providers are able to perform multiple life-saving and life-sustaining procedures by utilizing a combination of their knowledge, their assessment and the medical protocols established by Kansas physicians. Currently, there are approximately 10,700 certified EMS providers within the state of Kansas. These providers are a combination of full-time employees, part-time employees and volunteers. EMS providers must complete approximately 90 hours of education prior to gaining certification as an EMR and at least 1,200 hours of education prior to gaining certification as a Paramedic; and

WHEREAS, There are 172 permitted ambulance services operating 669 licensed ground ambulances and 53 licensed air ambulances within the state that respond to approximately 340,000 calls annually: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we recognize the Kansas Board of Emergency Medical Services for its work in ensuring that quality out-of-hospital care is available throughout the state of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Oletha Faust-Goudeau, Joseph House, Dennis Franks, Representative Broderick Henderson, Senator Mitch Holmes, Dr. Joel Hornung, Commissioner Ricky James, Deborah Kaufman, Dr. David Kingfisher, Commissioner Keith Olsen, Shane Pearson, Chad Pore, John Ralston, Dr. Martin Sellberg, Jeri Smith and Representative Susie Swanson.

Senate Resolution No. 1759 was sponsored by Senators Oletha Faust-Goudeau and Mitch Holmes. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.