SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1764

A Resolution congratulating and commending the 2015 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers.

WHEREAS, Three of Kansas' finest educators have satisfied the highest professional qualifications of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards to be designated as National Board Certified Teachers. They will be recognized as such at a program on February 18, 2016; and

WHEREAS, The 2015 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers are: Misti Dailey, Tanglewood Elementary School, USD 260 Derby; Jill Holmes, Aubry Bend Middle School, USD 229 Blue Valley; Ami Lin, Trail Ridge Middle School, USD 231 Gardner-Edgerton; and

WHEREAS, National Board Certification, a voluntary process established by the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards, is a symbol of professional teaching excellence. It is achieved through a performance-based assessment process that measures a teacher's practice against high and rigorous advanced standards to demonstrate accomplished practice. Through a series of assessments, teachers demonstrate their subject matter knowledge, provide evidence that they know how to most effectively teach their subjects to students and demonstrate their ability to manage and measure student learning; and

WHEREAS, The National Board of Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan and nongovernmental organization. Its mission is to advance the quality of teaching and learning by: Maintaining high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do; providing a national voluntary system certifying teachers who meet these standards; and advocating related educational reforms to integrate National Board Certification in American education and to capitalize on the expertise of National Board Certified Teachers: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend each of these outstanding educators who have attained the status of National Board Certified Teacher; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send three enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each of the teachers so honored, plus one copy to the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1764 was sponsored by Senator Steve E. Abrams. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.