## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1797**

A Resolution congratulating and commending Darion Stafford on receiving a 2016 Gates Millennium Scholarship.

WHEREAS, Darion Stafford, from Washington High School in Kansas City, Kansas, has been selected as a 2016 Gates Millennium Scholar; and

WHEREAS, The Gates Millennium Scholars Program was established in 1999 to promote academic excellence and to provide opportunities for outstanding minority students with significant financial need to reach their highest potential; and

WHEREAS, This prestigious program selects only 1,000 exceptional students per year nationwide to receive a full scholarship covering the cost of tuition, fees, books and living expenses at a college or university of the student's choice and offers students leadership development, mentoring and academic and social support; and

WHEREAS, To qualify for the program, students must receive endorsements from an educator and a community member, hold a minimum grade point average of 3.3 and demonstrate leadership through community service or extracurricular or other activities; and

WHEREAS, Darion Stafford is the 2015-2016 deputy wing commander of the Air Force JROTC at Washington High School and a Kansas State Scholar; and

WHEREAS, Darion Stafford plans on attending Oklahoma State University to major in aviation and aspires to become a pilot: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Darion Stafford on receiving a 2016 Gates Millennium Scholarship. Darion has exemplified academic excellence and leadership, and we wish him all the best for continued success in future academic, personal and career challenges and opportunities; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Pettey.

Senate Resolution No. 1797 was sponsored by Senator Pat Petty.  I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.