Driver's Licenses; HB 2522

HB 2522 amends law relating to driver's licenses to do the following:

- Restrict a class M license of an applicant who passes a driving examination administered by the Division of Vehicles (Division) on a three-wheeled motorcycle, which is not an autocycle, to the operation of a registered threewheeled motorcycle. An applicant for a class M license who passes a driving examination administered by the Division on a two-wheeled motorcycle, under continuing law, may operate any registered two-wheeled or three-wheeled motorcycle. This provision of the bill will take effect on January 1, 2017;
- Authorize a laser-engraved photograph to be placed on a Kansas driver's license, instruction permit, or nondriver identification card. The bill retains the option for a digital image in color. The bill also specifies the image be displayed on the front of the driver's license or nondriver identification card;
- Authorize electronic online renewal of a driver's license if permitted by the Director of Vehicles or the Director's designee. Electronic online renewal will not be allowed if the license previously had been renewed through an electronic online application in the immediately preceding driver's license period or if the person is younger than 30 days from turning 21, 65 or older, a registered offender under the Kansas Offender Registration Act, or licensed only for the period of time the holder is authorized to be present in the United States. The bill allows the Division to rely on the Division's most recent color digital image and signature image for the class C or M driver's license if the Division has the information on file. The bill authorizes the Secretary of Revenue to adopt and administer rules and regulations to implement a program to permit an electronic online renewal of a driver's license;
- Reflect changes made in 2012 that extended temporary registration permits for vehicles from 30 days to 60 days; and
- Add a \$40 nonrefundable fee to accompany an application for a license to operate a motorized bicycle from a person who has had driving privileges suspended. Under continuing law, such a license is available only if the violation leading to the suspension was for a violation other than driving a commercial vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) or a second or subsequent DUI violation in any vehicle. Also under continuing law, the applicant must have completed a mandatory period of suspension for test refusal, test failure, or alcohol- or drug-related conviction, and the class C license to be issued clearly indicates it is valid only for the operation of motorized bicycles. Moneys raised by the fee will be deposited in the Division of Vehicles Operating Fund, to be applied to costs to implement restricted driving privileges.