Veterinary Medicine Licenses; Veterinary Training Program for Rural Kansas; Euthanasia; SB 189

SB 189 requires any person who practices veterinary medicine on client-owned animals as a part of the person's employment at a school of veterinary medicine in Kansas to be a licensed veterinarian or possess an institutional license, beginning July 1, 2016. The fee for an application for an institutional license will be not less than \$50 nor more than \$250. The annual fee for renewal will be not less than \$20 nor more than \$100. Both fees will be established by the Board of Veterinary Examiners (Board). The bill also requires notices of the expiration of institutional licenses to be mailed to those holding institutional licenses and to the school of veterinary medicine not later than 30 days prior to the license expiration.

In addition, the bill establishes the procedure and requirements for obtaining an institutional license to practice veterinary medicine while employed by a school of veterinary medicine in the state from the Board. The bill requires the applicant to:

- Have a degree of doctor of veterinary medicine or its equivalent;
- Have passed the Kansas veterinary legal practice examination;
- Be a person of good moral character;
- Have paid the license application fee;
- Provide proof of employment with a school of veterinary medicine within Kansas;
- Certify that the person understands and agrees the institutional license is valid only for the practice of veterinary medicine associated with employment with the school of veterinary medicine; and
- Provide additional information or proof as required by the Board in rules and regulations.

Further, on and after July 1, 2016, the Kansas Veterinary Practice Act (Act) is amended to specifically permit:

- The practice of veterinary medicine at a school of veterinary medicine in Kansas by a person possessing an institutional license;
- Any person, including a member of the faculty, to give lectures, instructions, or demonstrations at the school of veterinary medicine or in connection with continuing education courses, except when it involves the practice of veterinary medicine on client-owned animals; or
- The temporary practice of veterinary medicine at a school of veterinary medicine, for a period of 30 days per calendar year, by a person eligible to obtain a veterinary or institutional license upon examination and application.

Under the bill, the Board, by rules and regulations, is allowed to waive the payment of a renewal fee for an institutional license during the period when the person is on active military duty during a time of national emergency for a period not to exceed three years.

In addition, the bill removes the sunset on the Veterinary Training Program for Rural Kansas and allows the program to continue. Under previous law, the program would have sunset on July 1, 2016, and no further program agreements could have been entered after that date.

The bill requires the Dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine at Kansas State University to submit an annual report to the Senate Committee on Agriculture and the House Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources, which will include details on the Veterinary Training Program for Rural Kansas, the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory, the National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility (NBAF), and other programs of the college.

Further, the bill requires the Animal Health Commissioner of the Kansas Department of Agriculture to promulgate rules and regulations by December 31, 2015, regarding acceptable forms of euthanasia. The rules and regulations may be more strict than euthanasia standards set by the American Veterinary Medical Association.