1320 Research Park Drive Manhattan, Kansas 66502 (785) 564-6700



900 SW Jackson, Room 456 Topeka, Kansas 66612 (785) 296-3556

Jackie McClaskey, Secretary

Governor Sam Brownback

Testimony in Support of HB 2136 to the House Committee on Agriculture by Chad Bontrager, Deputy Secretary Kansas Department of Agriculture February 6, 2017

Good afternoon, Chairman Hoffman and members of the committee. I am Chad Bontrager, Deputy Secretary for the Kansas Department of Agriculture (KDA), and I appreciate the opportunity to provide testimony in support of HB 2136.

In the 2016 legislative session, KDA brought forward HB 2712 to this committee which was eventually passed by the Legislature as part of a larger agriculture bill package. The changes in that bill that dealt with K.S.A 83-302 and scale service companies were also meant for K.S.A 83-402. However, 83-402 relating to fuel service companies was not modified, so we bring you HB 2136 to mirror the changes made last year to 83-302.

## **Fuel Service Company License Application Fee**

Part one of HB 2136 deals with the license application fee that service companies pay annually in order to do business in Kansas. The fee is currently \$50. Prior to 2010, registration fees were \$100 per company, but in 2010 the fee sunsetted back to a previous level of \$50 per company. In an effort to reduce state general fund and petroleum inspection fee fund resources necessary to manage service company registration, the weights and measures program seeks to increase the maximum registration fee cap to \$100 in fiscal year 2017 and to \$130 in FY 2023. The actual fee could be set at the maximum or at a lower rate by the Secretary of Agriculture. Under this updated fee schedule, fees collected by companies registering would cover the program's costs incurred from the registration process.

## **Continuing Education**

The second part of HB 2136 addresses the continuing education requirements for licensed technical representatives. In order to earn a license from the state of Kansas to repair, install and certify commercial weighing and measuring devices, fuel service technicians are currently required to obtain 4 hours of continuing education and pass an exam annually for each category in which they are licensed. While maintaining a focus on training and education for certified technicians, the weights and measures program seeks to update the required frequency of continuing education for certification purposes based on a technician's previous performance. An updated "extended continuing education and licensing" schedule would allow technicians who have had 10 years of continuous licensure in Kansas and who have not had any administrative enforcement action taken against them to reduce frequency of continuing education requirements to once every three years as opposed to every year.

Thank you for the opportunity to present testimony in support of HB 2136. I will stand for questions at the appropriate time.