

February 6, 2017

Representative Jene Vickrey, Chairman Representative Willie Dove, Vice-Chairman House Insurance Committee

> RE: HB 2104 - Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Underinsured Motorist Coverage Minimum Limits - (Support)

My name is Chris Conrade. I am Vice President of Conrade Insurance Group, an independent agency that traces its Kansas roots to 1896. Our agency assists our customers with all types of insurance including automobile insurance, homeowner's insurance and commercial insurance.

Automobile liability insurance has two different types of coverages; property damage and bodily injury. Property damage covers the cost of the damaged automobile and other tangible pieces of property such as damaged road signs, fences and buildings. The bodily injury portion covers personal injuries suffered in the collision. When listing limits of coverage there are three numbers listed. The first number is the per person bodily injury limit a company will pay of which our state minimum is currently \$25,000. The second number is the bodily injury per collision limit meaning the amount all members injured in a collision can collect in aggregate. The current Kansas limit is \$50,000. The final number is the property damage limit which is the total amount a company will pay for property damage in a collision; currently \$25,000. (25/50/25 is the designation that represents our current limits).

Minimum Limits Should Protect Kansans – The Current Limits Do Not.

Each state sets minimum limits for automobile coverage to protect its citizens. These limits are designed to protect both the injured person and the driver who caused the collision. Unfortunately, our limits are outdated and need to be adjusted. There have been a lot of economic changes in Kansas in the last 35 years and our limits have not kept pace.

Agents all across Kansas see the impact of outdated auto limits every day. My agency refuses to write insurance with minimum limits because we know the tragic financial consequences of buying

minimum limits where a relatively minor automobile collision can bring financial ruin. However, individuals who have minimum limits believe that since they have insurance "as required by law" erroneously believe they have adequate protection.

This is especially true of those operating through online selling who prey on the most vulnerable of our society, the elderly, the poor and the uneducated. These online sellers do not explain to their clients the risks of the \$25,000 bodily injury limit. They simply advise this is the insurance that is required by Kansas Law. Thus, more consumers than ever before are choosing inadequate minimum coverage.

Last year the legislature recognized the increased cost of automobiles since the early 1980's and increased the property damage limits to \$25,000. However, medical costs since the 1980's have risen at a higher level than automobile costs.

Responsible Kansans pay the price for outdated minimum limits through their own automobile premium. Under the current limits, costs for the auto market are shifted to the drivers who carry appropriate limits through Underinsured motorist coverage.

Minimum Limits Should Protect the Kansas Budget – The Current Limits Do Not.

The cost aspect to the Kansas budget is often overlooked in discussions on minimum limits.

When medical expenses are not covered by the automobile insurance of the at-fault driver they are often shifted to government financed programs like Medicaid and Medicare. These costs should not be passed on to the Kansas taxpayers.

Lower Limits Does Not Reduce the Number of Uninsured.

Opponents of increased limits argue that raising the minimum limits will increase the number of uninsured drivers. The Insurance Resource Council conducted a study on the percentage of Uninsured Motorists.¹ The state of Florida has the nation's lowest limits at (10/20/10), however, it had the second highest number of uninsured motorists.

Similarly, Nebraska has lower premiums and fewer uninsured motorists despite having higher property damage limits (until the recent change in property damage limits).

The Cost?

Increasing the minimum limits as outlined in HB 2104 would better protect Kansans while having an estimated minimal impact on automobile premiums. Based upon our research, the increase in limits as proposed in HB 2104 would cost the average driver about \$4 per month more vs current minimum required limits. In return, Kansas drivers and those around them would be better protected. Further, other drivers would not have to pick up the tab through Underinsured Motorist

¹ Insurance Research Council, *New Study Reveals a Declining Trend in the Percentage of Uninsured Motorists,* August 5, 2014.

provisions. The cost should be borne by the individual who causes the collision, not the injured party and their Underinsured motorist limits.

Underinsured Motorist Limits

The current offset system in Kansas does not help the Kansas consumer. When my clients purchase \$100,000 worth of UIM coverage, they often get actually less coverage than \$100,000. Under current law my injured clients get a reduced amount as the carrier gets a credit for the insurance of the bad driver. My clients often do not understand this portion of Kansas Law.

The biggest inequalities come when a person purchases minimum limits, usually on-line, believing they have \$25,000 of "underinsured" motorist coverage. However, when the at-fault driver has \$25,000 in limits they have "no" underinsured coverage because of the credit or "setoff."

Conclusion

The minimum limits of bodily injury policies in Kansas should be modernized to better reflect the realities of today's economy and better protect Kansans from financial ruin of underinsured motorists.

Respectfully,

ti Cle

Chris Conrade Vice President Conrade Insurance Group, Inc.