Sub. for HB 2040, Senate Transportation Committee, 13 March 2018

Colorado

C.R.S.A. § 42-4-1903

§ 42-4-1903. School buses--stops--signs--passing

- (1)(a) The driver of a motor vehicle upon any highway, road, or street, upon meeting or overtaking from either direction any school bus that has stopped, shall stop the vehicle at least twenty feet before reaching the school bus if visual signal lights as specified in subsection (2) of this section have been actuated on the school bus. The driver shall not proceed until the visual signal lights are no longer being actuated. The driver of a motor vehicle shall stop when a school bus that is not required to be equipped with visual signal lights by subsection (2) of this section stops to receive or discharge schoolchildren.
- (6)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection (6), any person who violates any provision of paragraph (a) of subsection (1) of this section commits a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense.
 (b) Any person who violates the provisions of paragraph (a) of subsection (1) of this section commits a class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense if such person has been convicted within the previous five years of a violation of paragraph (a) of subsection (1) of this section.

C.R.S.A. § 42-4-1701

§ 42-4-1701. Traffic offenses and infractions classified--penalties--penalty and surcharge schedule--repeal

(II)(A) Except as otherwise provided in sub-subparagraph (B) of this subparagraph (II), subsections (4) and (5) of this section, and sections 42-4-1301.3, 42-4-1301.4, and 42-4-1307, or the section creating the offense, misdemeanor traffic offenses are divided into two classes that are distinguished from one another by the following penalties that are authorized upon conviction:

Class	Minimum Sentence	Maximum Sentence
1	Ten days imprisonment, or \$300 fine, or both	One year imprisonment, or \$1000 fine, or both
2	Ten days imprisonment, or \$150 fine, or both	Ninety days imprisonment, or \$300 fine, or both

(B) Any person convicted of a class 1 or class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense shall be required to pay restitution as required by article 18.5 of title 16, C.R.S., and may be sentenced to perform a certain number of hours of community or useful public service in addition to any other sentence provided by sub-subparagraph (A) of this subparagraph (II), subject to the conditions and restrictions of section 18-1.3-507, C.R.S.

Missouri

V.A.M.S. 304.050. School buses, drivers to stop for, when--signs required on buses--crossing control arm--bus driver responsibilities--driver identity rebuttable presumption, when (Jessica's Law)

1. The driver of a vehicle upon a highway upon meeting or overtaking from either direction any school bus which has stopped on the highway for the purpose of receiving or discharging any school children and whose driver has in the manner prescribed by law given the signal to stop, shall stop the vehicle before reaching such school bus and shall not proceed until such school bus resumes motion, or until signaled by its driver to proceed.

V.A.M.S. 304.570. Penalty for violations

Any person who violates any of the provisions of this chapter or of sections 307.020 to 307.295, for which no specific punishment is provided, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not less than five dollars nor more than five hundred dollars or by imprisonment in the county jail for a term not exceeding one year, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

Nebraska

Neb.Rev.St. § 60-6,175

60-6,175. School bus; safety requirements; use of stop signal arm; use of warning signal lights; violations; penalty

(1) Upon meeting or overtaking, from the front or rear, any school bus on which the yellow warning signal lights are flashing, the driver of a motor vehicle shall reduce the speed of such vehicle to not more than twenty-five miles per hour, shall bring such vehicle to a complete stop when the school bus is stopped, the stop signal arm is extended, and the flashing red signal lights are turned on, and shall remain stopped until the flashing red signal lights are turned off, the stop signal arm is retracted, and the school bus resumes motion. This section shall not apply to approaching traffic in the opposite direction on a divided highway or to approaching traffic when there is displayed a sign as provided in subsection (8) of this section directing traffic to proceed. Any person violating this subsection shall be guilty of a Class IV misdemeanor, shall be fined five hundred dollars, and shall be assessed points on his or her motor vehicle operator's license pursuant to section 60-4.182.

Oklahoma

47 Okl.St.Ann. § 11-705

§ 11-705. Meeting or overtaking stopped school bus—Violation and penalty—Reporting violations A. The driver of a vehicle meeting or overtaking a school bus that is stopped to take on or discharge school children, and on which the red loading signals are in operation, is to stop the vehicle before it reaches the school bus and not proceed until the loading signals are deactivated and then proceed past such school bus at a speed which is reasonable and with due caution for the safety of such school children and other occupants. Any person convicted of violating the provisions of this subsection shall be punished by a fine of not less than One Hundred Dollars (\$100.00).

D. If the driver of a school bus witnesses a violation of the provisions of subsection A of this section, within twenty-four (24) hours of the alleged offense, the driver shall report the violation, the vehicle color, license tag number, and the time and place such violation occurred to the law enforcement authority of the municipality where the violation occurred. The law enforcement authority of a municipality shall issue a letter of warning on the alleged violation to the person in whose name the vehicle is registered. The Office of the Attorney General shall provide a form letter to each municipal law enforcement agency in this state for the issuance of the warning provided for in this subsection. Such form letter shall be used by each such law enforcement agency in the exact form provided for by the Office of the Attorney General. A warning letter issued pursuant to this subsection shall not be recorded on the driving record of the person to whom such letter was issued. Issuance of a warning letter pursuant to this section shall not preclude the imposition of other penalties as provided by law.