REPORTS OF STANDING COMMITTEES

MR. SPEAKER:

The Committee on **Agriculture** recommends **HB 2478** be amended on page 1, following line 7, by inserting:

"Section 1. K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 2-1014 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-1014. (a) No manufacturer, importer, jobber, firm, association, corporation or person shall sell, offer or expose for sale or distribute in this state any commercial feeding stuffs unless such person holds a valid license for each manufacturing or distribution facility in this state. No license shall be required of persons distributing only packages or containers of a licensed manufacturer, importer, jobber, firm, association, corporation or person as packaged and labeled by the manufacturer, importer, jobber, firm, association, corporation or person and whose name and address appear on the label as required in K.S.A. 2-1002, and amendments thereto. Any out-ofstate manufacturer, importer, jobber, firm, association, corporation or person who has no distribution facility within this state shall obtain a license for such entity's principal out-of-state office if such out-of-state manufacturer, importer, jobber, firm, association, corporation, person or other entity sells, offers or exposes for sale or distributes any commercial feeding stuffs in this state. Application shall be made on forms prescribed and furnished by the secretary of agriculture. The application shall be accompanied by an annual license fee of \$10. Licenses shall be renewed annually on or before July 1. Any licensee who fails to renew such license annually on or before July 1 shall be required to pay a late fee not to exceed 40% of the current license fee or \$100, whichever is less.

(b) The secretary, pursuant to rules and regulations, may deny, suspend, revoke or

refuse to renew the commercial feed license if the applicant or the licensee of any manufacturing or distribution facility is not in compliance with the provisions of article 10 of chapter 2 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, and any rules and regulations promulgated thereunder. The secretary may deny, suspend, revoke or refuse to renew any commercial feed license subsequently found not to be in compliance with any provision of article 10 of chapter 2 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, and any rules and regulations promulgated thereunder. No commercial feed license shall be denied, suspended, revoked or refused renewal unless the applicant or licensee has been given an opportunity for a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act.

- (c) The secretary, pursuant to rules and regulations, may request copies of labels and labeling in order to determine compliance with the requirements of article 10 of chapter 2 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto.
- Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 2-1421a is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-1421a. (a) (1) Each wholesaler shall register with the secretary and shall pay a registration fee not to exceed \$300. The current wholesale registration fee is hereby set at \$175 and shall remain at that amount until changed by rules and regulations of the secretary.
- (2) Each retailer shall register with the secretary and shall pay a registration fee not to exceed \$30. The current retailer registration fee is hereby set at \$10 and shall remain at that amount until changed by rules and regulations of the secretary.
- (3) Registration shall be required for each place of business at which agricultural seed is sold, offered or exposed for sale by the wholesaler or retailer.
- (4) An individual who conducts a wholesaler and retailer business at the same location shall be required to register as both a wholesaler and retailer.
- (b) Application for registration shall be made on a form provided by the secretary. Each registration for a wholesaler or retailer shall expire on August 31 following the date of issuance-unless

such registration is renewed annually. Failure to renew any such registration on or before August 31 of each year shall require payment of a late fee not to exceed 40% of the current applicable registration fee or \$100, whichever is less.

- (c) Each seed conditioner shall register with the secretary. Such seed conditioner registration shall require no registration fee and shall be a biennial registration. Any seed conditioner who is ceasing to do business as a seed conditioner shall notify the Kansas department of agriculture within 30 days of ceasing to do business.
- (d) As used in this section, "agricultural seed" shall include grain when sold as such, or when sold according to grain standards and the seller knows, or has reason to know, that the grain is to be used for seeding or planting purposes.
- (e) The secretary shall remit all moneys received under this section to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the agricultural seed fee fund which is hereby created. All expenditures from such fund shall be made in accordance with appropriation acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by the secretary or a person or persons designated by the secretary.
- (f) All moneys credited to the agricultural seed fee fund shall be expended for any purpose consistent with the Kansas seed law.
- (g) The secretary may adopt rules and regulations necessary to administer the provisions of this act.
- (h) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the Kansas seed law, K.S.A. 2-1415 et seq., and amendments thereto.";

Also on page 1, in line 26, by striking "equal to" and inserting "not to exceed"; also in line 26, after the second "fee" by inserting "or \$100, whichever is less,";

On page 3, in line 12, by striking "equal to" and inserting "not to exceed"; in line 13, after "fee" by

inserting "or \$100, whichever is less";

On page 4, in line 8, after the period by inserting "Failure to renew such registration prior to January 1 of each year shall result in a late fee not to exceed 40% of the current registration fee or \$100, whichever is less."; in line 43, by striking "\$25" and inserting "\$100"; also in line 43, by striking "equal to" and inserting "not to exceed";

On page 5, in line 1, by striking "greater" and inserting "less"; following line 8, by inserting:

"Sec. 6. K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 2-2445a is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-2445a. In lieu of obtaining a commercial applicator's certificate under the provisions of K.S.A. 2-2441a, and amendments thereto, a private applicator's certificate may be applied for by and issued to individuals using restricted use pesticides for the purpose of producing any agricultural commodity on property owned or rented by the individual or such individual's employer, or on the property of another for no compensation other than the trading of personal services between producers. Such certificates shall expire on the anniversary of the individual's date of birth occurring in the fifth calendar year following the year of issue. No certification shall be required hereunder for individuals operating under the supervision of a certified private applicator.

Certified private applicator certificates may be issued to individuals who have paid: (a) A fee fixed by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary, except that on and after July 1, 2023, such fee shall not exceed \$10; and (b) who have acquired practical knowledge of pest problems, proper storage, use, handling and disposal of pesticides and pesticide containers, pertinent information found on the pesticide labels, pesticide use safety and environmental considerations, either through Kansas state university extension service educational training or through individual study of educational materials available at county extension offices or the secretary. The certified private applicator certificate fee in effect on the day preceding the effective date of this act shall continue in effect until the secretary adopts rules and regulations fixing a different fee therefor under this section. Individuals shall indicate adequate knowledge of the subjects enumerated herein by passing an open-book examination approved

by the secretary. <u>Individuals who submit the required certificate fee after the expiration of such individual's certificate shall be required to pay a late fee not to exceed 40% of the certificate fee or \$100, whichever is less.</u>

Educational materials and examination blanks shall be made available at county extension offices and at places where extension educational training is conducted. The examinations shall be scored by members of the extension or secretary's staff. If an individual passes the examination by equaling or exceeding a standard authorized by the secretary, a certified private applicator's certificate shall be issued to such individual. Such staff member shall send a copy of the certificate issued, together with the fee, to the secretary.

A certified applicator who holds a current certificate to apply pesticides as a certified private applicator in any other state or political subdivision of the United States may be exempted from examination for private applicator certification in this state upon payment of proper fees and approval by the secretary.

- Sec. 7. K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 2-2446 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-2446. (a) A commercial applicator's certification may be renewed for a succeeding three-year period by paying the fees prescribed in K.S.A. 2-2441a, and amendments thereto, passing the examinations provided for in K.S.A. 2-2443a, and amendments thereto, and completing the renewal application form prescribed by the secretary.
- (b) In lieu of such examinations, the secretary may accept attendance and satisfactory completion of a training course approved by the secretary. If certification is renewed by training, the renewal application form shall be accompanied by a recertification-by-training fee of \$50 per category unless a fee not to exceed \$50 is established in rules and regulations adopted by the secretary.
- (c) (1) A certified commercial applicator may recertify by training following the expiration of the certification period, if:
 - (1)(A) All training requirements were completed during the certification period; and

- (2)(B) the renewal application form and all appropriate fees were received by the secretary on or before 30 days following expiration of the certification period.
- (2) Failure to renew such certification before 30 days following expiration of the certification period shall result in a late fee not to exceed 40% of the current renewal application fee or \$100, whichever is less.
- (d) A private applicator's certification may be renewed for a succeeding five-year period by paying the fee prescribed in K.S.A. 2-2445a, and amendments thereto, passing the examination provided for in K.S.A. 2-2445a, and amendments thereto, and completing the renewal application form prescribed by the secretary. Such examination shall be offered by the secretary by mail. County extension agricultural meetings shall include pertinent pesticide information for private applicators.
- (e) A pest control technician's registration may be renewed for a succeeding one-year period by paying the fees prescribed in K.S.A. 2-2440b, and amendments thereto, completing the renewal form prescribed by the secretary, and completing any requirements concerning retraining prescribed by rules and regulations.
- Sec. 8. K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 2-2469 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-2469. (a) Each person who is a pesticide dealer shall register with the secretary. Registration shall be required for each business location distributing pesticides and shall be on a form provided by the secretary. Each registration shall expire on June 30 following issuance unless such registration is renewed annually. A registration fee of \$20 shall accompany the application. Failure to renew such registration prior to July 1 of each year shall require payment of a late fee not to exceed 40% of the current registration fee or \$100, whichever is less.
- (b) The provisions of this section shall not apply to a licensed pesticide business which sells pesticides only as an integral part of such business' pesticide application service when the pesticides are dispensed only through equipment used for this pesticide application, nor to the sale of general use pesticides purchased for household use only, nor to any federal, state, county or municipal agency

which provides pesticides only for its own programs nor to any individual who is the final purchaser of a pesticide for application to property or property rights owned, leased, or otherwise acquired by such person.

- (c) Each registered pesticide dealer is responsible for the acts of each individual employed by such dealer in the solicitation and sale of pesticides and for all claims and recommendations for use of pesticides made by such employees. The dealer's registration shall be subject to denial, suspension, or revocation after notice and opportunity for a hearing are given in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act for any violation of this act whether committed by the dealer or by the dealer's officers, agents or employees.
- (d) All fees received under this section shall be remitted to the state treasurer in accordance with K.S.A. 2-2464a, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount thereof in the state treasury and 75% of such amount shall be credited to the pesticide use fee fund and 25% of each such amount shall be credited to the publications fee fund of the Kansas department of agriculture.
- Sec. 9. K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 2-2805 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-2805. Each soil amendment product shall be registered with the secretary before it is distributed in this state. Application for registration shall be submitted to the secretary, on a form prepared for that purpose, showing the information required on the label, as provided in K.S.A. 2-2804, and amendments thereto, except net weight of product. The registration fee shall be fixed by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary of agriculture for each product, except that such fee shall not exceed \$100 for each product. The soil amendment product registration fee in effect on the day preceding the effective date of this act shall continue in effect until the secretary of agriculture adopts rules and regulations fixing a different fee therefor under this section. All registrations shall expire on December 31 of the year in which such soil amendment product is registered. Failure to renew such registration on or before December 31 of the year in which such soil amendment product was registered shall require payment of a late fee not to

exceed 40% of the current registration fee or \$100, whichever is less. The applicant shall submit with the application for registration a copy of the label and a copy of all advertisements, brochures, posters and television and radio announcements to be used in promoting the sale of the soil amendment.";

Also on page 5, in line 36, by striking "\$25" and inserting "\$100"; also in line 36, by striking "equal to" and inserting "not to exceed"; in line 37, by striking "greater" and inserting "less";

On page 6, in line 4, after the period by inserting "Failure to renew such license on or before September 30 of each year shall result in a late fee not to exceed 40% of the current application fee or \$100, whichever is less."; in line 17, after the period by inserting "Failure to renew such license on or before September 30 of each year shall result in a late fee not to exceed 40% of the current annual license fee or \$100, whichever is less."; in line 22, after the period by inserting "Failure to renew any license or permit on or before September 30 of each year shall result in a late fee not to exceed 40% of the current application fee or \$100, whichever is less.";

On page 7, in line 6, after the period by inserting "Failure to pay any such annual license fee on or before September 30 of each year shall result in a late fee not to exceed 40% of the current license fee or \$100, whichever is less.";

On page 8, in line 35, after the period by inserting "Failure to renew such license on or before September 30 of each year shall result in a late fee not to exceed 40% of the current registration or renewal fee or \$100, whichever is less.";

On page 9, in line 8, after the period by inserting "Failure to renew such permit on or before September 30 of each year shall result in a late fee not to exceed 40% of the current application fee or \$100, whichever is less.";

On page 10, following line 27, by inserting:

"Sec. 17. K.S.A. 49-623 is hereby amended to read as follows: 49-623. (a) The director, with the approval of the commission, shall adopt such rules and regulations as necessary to administer and enforce the provisions of this act.

- (b) The commission shall determine annually the amount necessary to carry out and enforce the provisions of this act for the next ensuing fiscal year and shall recommend to the director such license renewal, registration application, registration—and, registration renewal_and_late_fees as the commission determines necessary for that purpose. The director shall adopt such fees by rule and regulation.
- (c) Fees for license renewal, registration and registration renewal shall be based on an operator's acres of affected land or the tonnage of materials extracted by the operator during the preceding license year, or a combination thereof.
 - (d) Political subdivisions of the state shall be exempt from all fees imposed under this act.";

On page 11, in line 4, by striking "equal"; in line 5, by striking "to" and inserting "not to exceed"; also in line 5, after "fee" by inserting "or \$100, whichever is less";

On page 12, following line 4, by inserting:

- "Sec. 19. K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 65-778 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-778. (a) Any person who engages in business as a dairy manufacturing plant shall first apply for and obtain a dairy manufacturing plant license from the secretary and shall pay a license fee of \$120, or commencing July 1, 2002, and ending June 30, 2023, a license fee of \$200.
- (b) Any person who engages in business as a distributor of milk, milk products or dairy products shall first apply for and obtain a milk distributor license from the secretary and shall pay a license fee of \$120, or commencing July 1, 2002, and ending June 30, 2023, a license fee of \$200. No milk distributor license shall be required for a licensed dairy manufacturing plant which distributes only those products which it manufactures.
- (c) Any person who engages in business as a milk hauler shall first apply for and obtain a milk hauler license from the secretary and shall pay a license fee of \$25 or commencing July 1, 2002, and ending June 30, 2023, a license fee of \$35. As part of the application, the secretary may require the applicant to be tested regarding proper procedures for sampling, testing and weighing milk or cream

and state laws and rules and regulations.

- (d) Any person who operates a milk or cream transfer station or milk or cream receiving station shall first apply for and obtain a milk or cream station license from the secretary and shall pay a license fee of \$50, or commencing July 1, 2002, and ending June 30, 2023, a license fee of \$100.
- (e) Any person who engages in business as a manufacturer of single service dairy containers or manufacturer of single service dairy container closures shall first apply for and obtain a single service manufacturing license from the secretary and shall pay a license fee of \$50, or commencing July 1, 2002, and ending June 30, 2023, a license fee of \$100.
- (f) Any person who operates a milk tank truck cleaning facility shall first apply for and obtain a milk tank truck cleaning facility license from the secretary and shall pay a license fee of \$100.
- (g) Any license issued under this section shall be renewed annually. The failure of any licensee to renew a license according to the provisions of subsection (h) shall be required to pay a late fee not to exceed 40% of the current license fee or \$100, whichever is less.
- (h) The dairy manufacturing plant license, milk distributor license, milk tank truck cleaning facility license, milk or cream station license and single service manufacturing license shall expire on December 31 of the year for which it was issued unless suspended or revoked by the secretary pursuant to this act. The milk hauler license shall expire on June 30 following the date of issuance unless suspended or revoked by the secretary pursuant to this act.
- (i) No license issued under this section shall be transferable. No license shall be renewed if any assessments or fees required under this act are delinquent.
- (j) Each applicant for a license or for the renewal of such license shall submit an application on a form supplied by the secretary accompanied by the license fee. All licenses shall be conspicuously displayed in the applicant's place of business.
- (k) The secretary shall reduce any license fee in subsections (a) through (f) by adopting rules and regulations whenever the secretary determines that such fee is yielding more than is necessary for

administering the provisions of this act. The secretary may increase any license fee in subsections (a) through (f) by adopting rules and regulations when such license fee is necessary to produce sufficient revenues for administering the provisions of this act. License fees in subsections (a) through (f) shall not be increased in excess of the maximum amounts provided in this section.

- Sec. 20. K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 74-576 is hereby amended to read as follows: 74-576. In addition to the specific powers and duties conferred upon the secretary of agriculture by the laws of this state, the secretary is hereby authorized to:
- (a) Make and enter into contracts and agreements necessary or incidental to the execution of the laws relating to the department of agriculture;
- (b) charge and collect, by order, a fee necessary for the administration and processing of paper documents, including applications, registrations, permits, licenses, certifications, renewals, reports and remittance of fees that are necessary or incidental to the execution of the laws relating to the department of agriculture, when an electronic system for processing such documents exists. Such fee shall be in addition to any fee the secretary is authorized to charge by law and may be up to 6% of such applicable fee amount, but shall not exceed \$50; and
- (c) charge and collect, pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by the secretary, a late fee for any license, permit or registration required by the laws relating to the department of agriculture that is not renewed prior to the expiration of such license, permit or registration. Any such adopted late fee shall not exceed 40% of the current applicable license, permit or registration fee or \$100, whichever is less; and
- (d) foster and promote the development and economic welfare of the agricultural industry of the state.
- Sec. 21. K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 83-302 is hereby amended to read as follows: 83-302. (a) (1) Each person, other than an authorized representative of the secretary or an authorized representative of a city or county department of public inspection of weights and measures established pursuant to

K.S.A. 83-210, and amendments thereto, desiring to operate and perform testing and other services as a company in Kansas shall apply to the secretary for a service company license, on a form to be supplied by the secretary, and shall obtain such license from the secretary before operating and performing testing or other services as a service company. Each service company shall obtain a license for each place of business maintained in Kansas and shall pay a license application fee of \$50.

- (2) Beginning with the 2017 license year, the secretary may, by order, set the license application fee, not to exceed the maximum fee stated herein:
 - (A) Commencing July 1, 2017, the license application fee shall not exceed \$100.
 - (B) Commencing July 1, 2019, the license application fee shall not exceed \$110.
 - (C) Commencing July 1, 2021, the license application fee shall not exceed \$120.
- (D) Commencing July 1, 2023, and thereafter, the license application fee shall not exceed \$130.
- (3) Each service company license shall expire on June 30 following issuance, shall be void unless renewed prior to the expiration and shall not be transferable. The license renewal fee shall be equal to the license application fee as provided in this section for each place of business. Any license renewal fee received by the secretary on or after July 1 of each year shall be accompanied by a late fee not to exceed 40% of the license renewal fee or \$100, whichever is less.
- (b) If any service company maintains any out-of-state places of business which the company operates in serving Kansas patrons, the service company seeking to obtain or renew a license under this section shall list in the application such places of business and the firm names under which the company operates at each such place of business. If any out-of-state place of business is established by a service company after being licensed under this section, the licensee shall supply such information to the secretary before any work is performed in Kansas from such out-of-state location. Each nonresident service company shall designate a resident agent upon whom service of notice or process may be made to enforce the provisions of chapter 83 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, or

any liabilities arising from operations thereunder. Each nonresident service company which maintains no established place of business in Kansas shall obtain a license under this section for each out-of-state place of business and shall list on the application the firm name or names for each place of business from which the service company intends to operate.

- (c) (1) Each technical representative shall be licensed annually by the secretary. Except as provided in paragraph (2), each technical representative shall be required to attend continuing education seminars on an annual basis as required by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary and to pass a reasonable examination prescribed by the secretary each year prior to being licensed. Each technical representative's license shall expire on June 30 following the issuance of the license and shall be void unless renewed prior to the expiration.
- (2) Beginning on July 1, 2017, each technical representative who has had 10 years of continuous licensure with no administrative enforcement action adjudicated against such technical representative during such 10-year period shall be eligible to obtain a three-year license. The secretary shall implement, by order, the fee for such three-year license, which shall be an amount not to exceed \$300. Each technical representative holding a three-year license shall be required to complete continuing education as described in subsection (c)(1) at a frequency not to exceed once per three-year period. The secretary may promulgate rules and regulations to require any technical representative who has been adjudicated in violation of this act or any rules and regulations promulgated by the secretary, to seek renewal of a license on an annual basis and may establish criteria for reinstatement of eligibility for a three-year license.
- (3) The department of agriculture is authorized to charge a fee to the attendees of continuing education seminars sponsored by the department. The amount of such fee shall be no more than is necessary to cover the expenses incurred by providing the seminar.
- (d) No service company license may be issued or renewed under this section until the applicant's weights or measures, or both have been tested for accuracy and sealed by the secretary. The

secretary is authorized to accept a certification of the accuracy of the applicant's weights or measures issued by the national institute of standards and technology or by a weights and measures laboratory certified by the national institute of standards and technology in lieu of a test by the secretary, if such certificate shows that the weights or measures have been tested within the last 365 days preceding the license application.

- (e) The secretary shall remit all moneys received under this section to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the weights and measures fee fund.
- Sec. 22. K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 83-402 is hereby amended to read as follows: 83-402. (a) (1) Each person, other than an authorized representative of the secretary or an authorized representative of a city or county department of public inspection of weights and measures established pursuant to K.S.A. 83-210, and amendments thereto, desiring to operate and perform testing and other services as a service company in Kansas shall apply to the secretary for a service company license, on a form to be supplied by the secretary, and shall obtain such license from the secretary before operating and performing testing or other services as a service company. Each service company shall obtain a license for each place of business maintained in Kansas and shall pay a license application fee of \$50.
- (2) Beginning with the 2017 license year, the secretary may, by order, set the license application fee, not to exceed the maximum fee stated herein:
 - (A) Commencing July 1, 2017, the license application fee shall not exceed \$100.
 - (B) Commencing July 1, 2019, the license application fee shall not exceed \$110.
 - (C) Commencing July 1, 2021, the license application fee shall not exceed \$120.
- (D) Commencing July 1, 2023, and thereafter, the license application fee shall not exceed \$130.
 - (3) Each service company license shall expire on June 30 following issuance, shall be void

unless renewed prior to the expiration and shall not be transferable. The license renewal fee shall be equal to the license application fee as provided in this section for each place of business. Any license renewal fee received by the secretary on or after July 1 of each year shall be accompanied by a late fee not to exceed 40% of the license renewal fee or \$100, whichever is less.

- (b) If any service company maintains any out-of-state places of business which the service company operates in serving Kansas patrons, the service company seeking to obtain or renew a license under this section shall list in the application such places of business and the firm names under which the service company operates at each such place of business. If any out-of-state place of business is established by a service company after being licensed under this section, the licensee shall supply such information to the secretary before any work is performed in Kansas from such out-of-state location. Each nonresident service company shall designate a resident agent upon whom service of notice or process may be made to enforce the provisions of chapter 83 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, or any liabilities arising from operations thereunder. Each nonresident service company which maintains no established place of business in Kansas shall obtain a license under this section for each out-of-state place of business and shall list on the application the firm name or names for each place of business from which the service company intends to operate.
- (c) (1) Each technical representative shall be licensed annually by the secretary. Except as provided in paragraph (2), each technical representative shall be required to attend continuing education seminars on an annual basis as required by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary and to pass a reasonable examination prescribed by the secretary each year prior to being licensed. Each technical representative's license shall expire on June 30 following the issuance of the license and shall be void unless renewed prior to the expiration.
- (2) Beginning on July 1, 2017, each technical representative who has had 10 years of continuous licensure with no administrative enforcement action adjudicated against such technical representative during such 10-year period shall be eligible to obtain a three-year license. The secretary

shall implement, by order, the fee for such three-year license, which shall be an amount not to exceed \$300. Each technical representative holding a three-year license shall be required to complete continuing education as described in subsection (c)(1) at a frequency not to exceed once per three-year period. The secretary may promulgate rules and regulations to require any technical representative who has been adjudicated in violation of this act or any rules and regulations promulgated by the secretary, to seek renewal of a license on an annual basis and may establish criteria for reinstatement of eligibility for a three-year license.

- (3) The Kansas department of agriculture is authorized to charge a fee to the attendees of continuing education seminars sponsored by the department. The amount of such fee shall be no more than is necessary to cover the expenses incurred by providing the seminar.
- (d) No service company license may be issued or renewed under this section until the applicant's weights or measures, or both, have been tested for accuracy and sealed by the secretary. The secretary is authorized to accept a certification of the accuracy of the applicant's weights or measures issued by the national institute of standards and technology or by a weights and measures laboratory certified by the national institute of standards and technology in lieu of a test by the secretary, if such certificate shows that the weights or measures, or both, have been tested within the last 365 days preceding the license application.
- (e) The secretary shall remit all moneys received under this section to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the weights and measures fee fund.";

Also on page 12, in line 5, after "47-1208" by inserting "and 49-623"; also in line 5, after "Supp." by inserting "2-1014, 2-1421a,"; in line 6, after the first comma by inserting "2-2445a, 2-2446, 2-2469, 2-2805,"; also in line 6, by striking "and" and inserting a comma; also in line 6, after "65-691" by inserting ", 65-778, 74-576, 83-302 and 83-402";

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

On page 1, in the title, in line 3, after the semicolon by inserting "authorizing the Kansas secretary of agriculture to charge and collect a late fee for any license, permit or registration that is not renewed prior to expiration;"; also in line 3, after "47-1208" by inserting "and 49-623"; in line 4, after "Supp." by inserting "2-1014, 2-1421a,"; also in line 4, after the third comma by inserting "2-2445a, 2-2446, 2-2469, 2-2805,"; in line 5, by striking the first "and" and inserting a comma; also in line 5, after "65-691" by inserting ", 65-778, 74-576, 83-302 and 83-402"; and the bill be passed as amended.

C1 .
 Chairperson