Shawn Sullivan, Director of the Budget



Phone: (785) 296-2436 Fax: (785) 296-0231 shawn.sullivan@ks.gov

Sam Brownback, Governor

January 30, 2018

The Honorable Steven Johnson, Chairperson House Committee on Taxation Statehouse, Room 185-N Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Representative Johnson:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for HB 2537 by House Committee on Taxation

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning HB 2537 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

HB 2537 would amend KSA 19-4904 which relates to redevelopment authorities in Johnson and Labette counties. The bill would make several technical changes and add language to include Labette county in certain sections. In addition to making various technical changes, the bill would allow a redevelopment authority to incur debt and issue bonds to pay for costs of developing and improving properties within the redevelopment district. The bill would also allow a redevelopment authority to secure indebtedness by lien upon, security interest in or mortgage of any property owned by the redevelopment authority. The bill would further allow a redevelopment authority to acquire and finance property and improvements through lease-purchase agreements. Finally, the bill would require bonds issued for the purposes described in the bill to have a maximum maturity of no greater than 20 years. Debt incurred under provisions in the bill would not be considered debt of the state and would be paid by lawful revenue sources of the redevelopment authority.

The Kansas Association of Counties indicates the bill would have a fiscal effect on Johnson and Labette counties because the bill would expand the purposes for which redevelopment authorities in those counties could incur debt. The League of Kansas Municipalities indicates the bill would have no fiscal effect on Kansas cities. The Department of Revenue indicates the bill would have no fiscal effect on the agency or on the state levies for the two state building funds.

Sincerely,

Shawn Sulfivan, Director of the Budget

cc: Chardae Caine, League of Municipalities Melissa Wangemann, Association of Counties Lynn Robinson, Department of Revenue