## HOUSE BILL No. 2137

 $\label{lem:concerning} AN\ ACT\ concerning\ cities\ and\ counties; dealing\ with\ certain\ volunteer\ activities\ of\ governing\ body\ members;\ amending\ K.S.A.\ 19-205\ and\ repealing\ the\ existing\ section.$ 

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

- Section 1. K.S.A. 19-205 is hereby amended to read as follows: 19-205. (a) Except as provided by K.S.A. 12-344, and 12-345, and amendments thereto, and K.S.A.  $\frac{2007}{2016}$  Supp. 12-363 and 12-365, and amendments thereto, no person holding any state, county, township or city office shall be eligible to the office of county commissioner in any county in this state.
- (b) Nothing in this section shall prohibit the appointment of any county commissioner to any state board, committee, council, commission or similar body which is established pursuant to statutory authority, so long as any county commissioner so appointed is not entitled to receive any pay, compensation, subsistence, mileage or expenses for serving on such body other than that which is provided by law to be paid in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-3223, and amendments thereto.
- (c) Any county commissioner may serve as a volunteer in any capacity for an emergency medical service or ambulance service or as a volunteer fire fighter and may receive the usual compensation or other remuneration for such volunteer services.
- New Sec. 2. A member of a city governing body may serve as a volunteer in any capacity for an emergency medical service or ambulance service or as a volunteer fire fighter and may receive the usual compensation or other remuneration for such volunteer services.
  - Sec. 3. K.S.A. 19-205 is hereby repealed.

HOUSE, and passed that body

I hereby certify that the above BILL originated in the

Sec. 4. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its publication in the statute book.

HOUSE concurred in
SENATE amendments

Speaker of the House.

Chief Clerk of the House.

Passed the SENATE
as amended

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.

Governor.