## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1707**

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the members of the 2017 Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

WHEREAS, The Kansas State Department of Education sponsors the Kansas Teacher of the Year program, which identifies, recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession; and

WHEREAS, Two teachers — one elementary and one secondary — in each of the state's four United States congressional districts were selected as finalists for recognition as the Kansas Teacher of the Year, with the winner being chosen from among the eight finalists. The Kansas Teacher of the Year is awarded the Hubbard Foundation Kansas Teacher of the Year Ambassadorship, which enables the person selected to devote significant time during the second semester to activities supporting the mission of the program. The 2017 Kansas Teacher of the Year and the finalists were honored at an awards banquet on November 19, 2016. All members received a cash award as well as mementos of the event; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is nominated to represent Kansas in the National Teacher of the Year program, a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers, presented by Voya Financial; and

WHEREAS, The 2017 Kansas Teacher of the Year is Jason Sickel, Blue Valley USD 229; and the regional finalists are Kristine A. Bruce, Auburn-Washburn USD 437; Jennifer M. Farr, Geary County USD 475; Jonathan Ferrell, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Crystal May, Maize USD 266; Maret Schrader, Seaman USD 345; Lori J. Stratton, Wamego USD 320; and Brent M. Wolf, Derby USD 260: Now, therefore,

*Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas:* That we congratulate and commend the members of the 2017 Kansas Teacher of the Year team and wish Mr. Sickel success in the national competition; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send eight enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to the members of the 2017 Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

Senate Resolution No. 1707 was sponsored by Senator Molly Baumgardner.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.