## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1730

A Resolution commemorating the 150th anniversary of the historic Chisholm Trail.

WHEREAS, The Chisholm Trail is celebrating its 150th anniversary after a long and storied history including the birth of the American folk-type cowboy, cowtowns, cowboy hats and the beginning of the Old West era in Kansas; and

WHEREAS, The Chisholm Trail was initially developed in 1867 by Joseph McCoy, an Abilene stockyard owner, and was named after Jesse Chisholm, a Kansan who owned a trading post in Wichita and frequently traded with Native Americans throughout the region; and

WHEREAS, In the Chisholm Trail's heyday from the late 1860s through the 1880s, it stretched roughly from Lockhart, Texas to Abilene, Kansas, and served as a cattle pipeline leading herds from the Texas ranches to the Kansas stockyards and railroad hubs in Abilene, Caldwell, Dodge City, Ellsworth, Newton and Wichita; and

WHEREAS, The trail was an economic lifeline for Kansas, promoting the railroad and making ranching profitable by shipping millions of heads of cattle to the eastern parts of the country using newly formed rail hubs situated close to the Chisholm Trail in Kansas. The economic activity created by the Chisholm Trail boosted the economies of many surrounding towns close to the trail and helped build the reputation of Kansas as being a leader in the beef industry; and

WHEREAS, The Chisholm Trail is considered one of the great byways of America, along with the Oregon and Santa Fe Trails, that helped cultivate many iconic images of the Old West, enhanced the Kansas economy and is a treasured landmark in Kansas history: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we commemorate the 150<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the Chisholm Trail and praise the countless benefits that resulted from the Chisholm Trail's impact on Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 10 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Rogers.

Senate Resolution No. 1730 was sponsored by Senators Rogers, Alley, Estes, Faust-Goudeau, Hardy, McGinn, Petersen and Wilborn.

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.