SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1746

A RESOLUTION commemorating the 100th anniversary of city management in Kansas and designating June 18, 2017, as 100th Anniversary of City Management in Kansas Day.

WHEREAS, On February 17, 1917, Kansas Governor Arthur Capper signed a bill that authorized the city manager form of government for Kansas cities; and

WHEREAS, On March 9, 1917, electors in Wichita and El Dorado voted to adopt the city manager form of government and hired their first city managers on June 18 and July 1, 1917, respectively; and

WHEREAS, Today, the city or county manager form of government has been adopted by voters in 73 Kansas cities and 2 counties, which serves 24% of the Kansas municipal population; and

WHEREAS, In addition to the city manager form of government, cities in Kansas have an additional 97 cities and 20 counties with professional administrators who serve over 67% of the Kansas municipal population; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Association of City/County Management is the professional association that represents more than 192 local government administrators who serve Kansas cities and counties. These administrators promote strengthening the quality of local government through professional management; and

WHEREAS, The School of Public Affairs and Administration at the University of Kansas, the Hugo Wall School of Public Affairs at Wichita State University, and the Master of Public Administration program at Kansas State University prepare graduate students to work as professional city managers, city administrators, county managers and county administrators: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we commemorate the 100th anniversary of city management in Kansas, and we designate June 18, 2017, as 100th Anniversary of City Management in Kansas Day to show our admiration for professional city managers, city administrators, county managers and county administrators. We wish them continued success in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Hardy.

Senate Resolution No. 1746 was sponsored by Senators Hardy, Alley, Baumgardner, Berger, Billinger, Bollier, Bowers, Doll, Estes, Faust-Goudeau, Fitzgerald, Francisco, Givens, Goddard, Hawk, Hilderbrand, Kerschen, Lynn, Petersen, Pettey, Rogers, Skubal, Sykes, Taylor and Wilborn.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.