SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1747

A RESOLUTION honoring the life of M.S. "Mitch" Mitchell.

WHEREAS, M.S. "Mitch" Mitchell was born in 1923 in Tulsa, Oklahoma. He attended Texas Technological College and then Wichita State University, where he earned a degree in civil engineering; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Mitchell served the City of Wichita and Sedgwick County as the Flood Control and Maintenance Supervisor for the City-County Flood Control Office from 1958 to 1963, the Assistant Superintendent of Public Works and Maintenance, and Superintendent of Flood Control from 1964 to 1979; and

WHEREAS, Prior to the construction of the "Big Ditch," officially known as the Wichita-Valley Center Flood Control Project, Wichita faced a near-constant threat of severe floods when it rained in the spring, which caused people to consider how to minimize the damage caused by floods: and

WHEREAS, Mr. Mitchell was asked to help with the planning of the "Big Ditch," originally a six-week commitment, and was tasked with finding a location for the "Big Ditch"; and

WHEREAS, Despite repeated sabotage attempts and threats of physical violence, Mr. Mitchell persisted in his efforts to bring flood control to Wichita; and

WHEREAS, When the "Big Ditch" was finished in 1959, it was one of the largest water diversion projects in the nation at 18 miles long, with 50 miles of connecting channels, 100 miles of levees and 150 control structures; and

WHEREAS, Thanks to the efforts of "Big Ditch" Mitch, the flood fears in Wichita subsided: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we honor the life of M.S. "Mitch" Mitchell, and we are grateful for the life he lived in service to his community; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator McGinn.

Senate Resolution No. 1747 was sponsored by Senators McGinn, Faust-Goudeau, Kerschen, Masterson, Petersen, Rogers, Suellentrop and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution or	iginated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body
	<u></u>
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.