## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1749

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2016-2017 Kansas Distinguished Financial Educator Award recipients.

WHEREAS, Three Kansas teachers are receiving the Distinguished Financial Educator Award, sponsored by the Offices of the State Bank Commissioner and the Securities Commissioner, for the 2016-2017 school year, based on their innovative teaching practices and commitment to educate students in the subject of personal finance and to advocate for financial education; and

WHEREAS, Financial literacy is recognized as a critical life skill, but is not a required course that students must take in order to graduate in Kansas; and

WHEREAS, The 2017 Consumer Financial Literacy Survey conducted nationwide by the National Foundation for Credit Counseling demonstrated that there continues to be a growing need for financial education, finding an increase in American credit card debt, decreases in the number of people with non-retirement savings and higher levels of concern about long-term financial stability, including retirement savings; and

WHEREAS, These teachers have proven their dedication to improving the financial literacy of students in their community by using a variety of programs and resources that not only teach students information about managing their money, but also help them learn how to apply the knowledge they gain, so they can be well-equipped to make wise financial decisions for the rest of their lives: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Aaron Dirks of Scott Community High School, Vicki Galloway of Haven Schools and Lisa Ward of Fort Scott High School for being selected as Distinguished Financial Educators for the 2016-2017 school year; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send four enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each of the 2016-2017 Kansas Distinguished Financial Educators.

Senate Resolution No. 1749 was sponsored by Senators Berger, Hilderbrand and Taylor.  I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.