SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1755

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Butler County Community College Grizzlies softball team.

WHEREAS, On May 20, 2017, the Butler County Community College Grizzlies softball team won their second consecutive National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) National Championship; and

WHEREAS, The team finished with a final record of 58 wins and 1 loss, which includes a 50-game winning streak; and

WHEREAS, The national championship tournament was held in St. George, Utah. The Grizzlies won the national title by defeating Salt Lake Community College 11-7 in the championship game. Butler went 5-0 in the national tournament and defeated teams from Alabama, Texas, Arizona, and Utah by a combined score of 53-14; and

WHEREAS, The Grizzlies are the first team in 25 years to win consecutive championships. The last team to do so was Central Arizona College, which won five straight from 1988 to 1992; and

WHEREAS, After winning its final 38 games in the 2016 season, the Grizzlies started the 2017 season 50-0. The 88-game winning streak is the longest in the history of college softball and surpassed the record of 55 straight set by Northern Kentucky University in 2005; and

WHEREAS, The Grizzlies are 111-5 over the past two years, and head coach Doug Chance, a Kansas native, has a record of 564-148 (.792) in 13 years as Butler's head coach, which is an average of 43 wins per season; and

WHEREAS, Butler had four players from Kansas in the starting lineup during the national title game and started as many as six Kansas players in games throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, Among the Kansas players to start in the tournament were: Tournament MVP Becca Schulte, Andover; and Outfielder Brynn Minor, Goddard, who hit three home runs in the championship game. Other Kansas players on the roster come from Derby, Towanda, Topeka and Maize; and

WHEREAS, Members of the team are: Caylie Kifer; Brynn Minor; Ki'Audra Hayter; Reagan Wilson; Tyesha Morgan; Chloe Holman; Beanie Luttig; Becca Schulte; Allison Jurgensen; Paige Pacher; Celina Sullivan; Tamarah Mascher; Regan Mergele; Alexis Reed; Kenzie Young; Nykiah Hines; Darrianne Hale and Maddie Siemer; and

WHEREAS, Along with head coach Doug Chance, the assistant coaches are: Zach Sigler; Jeff Filali and Matt Sanders: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Butler County Community College Grizzlies softball team, and we wish them the best of luck as they strive toward a third consecutive national championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Givens.

Senate Resolution No. 1755 was sponsored by Senator Bruce Givens. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.