## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1773**

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the members of the Fort Scott High School debate team for their performance in the class 4A state debate tournament.

WHEREAS, The Fort Scott High School debate team traveled to Coffeyville, Kansas, for the 4A state debate tournament on January 12 and 13; and

WHEREAS, The team was represented in the four-speaker division by the regional championship team of Darby Toth, Rebekah Sweyko, Joe Adams and Isabella Provence, with alternates Kaden Kiwan and Ashtyn Dowell. The team took fourth place to KC Piper, Bishop Miege and Louisburg by one win; and

WHEREAS, In the two-speaker division, the team took four pairs, the maximum number allowed for a school. In order to qualify, the teams earned a win-loss record of 50% or better over four tournaments above the novice level. Fort Scott was represented by the teams of Madison Toth and Mark Adams; Zoe Self and Elizabeth Ngatia; Brooklyn Lyons and Dalton Womeldorff; and Tayton Majors and Sara Al-Shawish; and

WHEREAS, Sixty teams participated in the tournament and all four Fort Scott teams broke to double octofinals. In the double octofinal round, Madison Toth and Mark Adams lost to Nickerson, while Brooklyn Lyons and Dalton Womeldorff lost to Louisburg. Tayton Majors and Sara Al-Shawish made it to the quarterfinals and ended up fourth after losing to Topeka Hayden. The team of Zoe Self, a first-year debater, and Elizabeth Ngatia, a second-year debater, lost in the finals to Wichita Collegiate and brought home the second-place trophy; and

WHEREAS, The Fort Scott High School debate team has been state champion or state runnerup in four of the last five years and is coached by Amber Toth, with assistant coaches Travis Toth and Sarah Bahr: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Fort Scott High School debate team and their coaches for their outstanding performance in the class 4A state debate tournament; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send enrolled copies of this resolution to Senators Hilderbrand and Tyson, and 18 enrolled copies to Amber Toth.

Senate Resolution No. 1773 was sponsored by Senators Richard Hilderbrand and Caryn Tyson.  I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.