SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1781

A Resolution congratulating and commending the 2018 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of Kansas' best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2018. These seven outstanding educators will be honored on Wednesday, April 4, with a day of receptions, seminars and tours at the sponsoring institution, Emporia State University; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2018 winners; and

WHEREAS, The 2018 Kansas Master Teachers are: Connstance Allmond, high incident/intellectual disability teacher at El Dorado Middle School in El Dorado; Deanna K. Burton, social studies teacher at Susan B. Anthony Middle School in Manhattan; Abby Cornelius, library media specialist at Blue Valley North High School in Overland Park; Todd Flory, fourth-grade teacher at Wheatland Elementary School in Andover; Chitra Harris, science teacher at Wichita High School South; Matthew Irby, science teacher at Emporia High School; and Kimberly S. Schneweis, visual art teacher at Hays Middle School; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1953. The awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession long and well and who also exemplify the outstanding qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers; and

WHEREAS, Since 1980, Bank of America has pledged more than \$100,000 to permanently endow the Kansas Master Teacher Awards. In 1984, the Black family of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, established an endowed chair for Kansas Master Teachers. The fund provides a stipend to bring two Master Teachers to Emporia State University for part of a semester where they present to classes of education students; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Kansas Senate recognize the invaluable contributions of great teachers such as those being honored today. These 2018 Master Teachers serve as mentors and role models and lay the groundwork for the best educators of tomorrow. They go above and beyond what is expected and offer inspiration, as well as instruction. They teach with heart and soul, and by giving the best of themselves, they encourage students to give their best in return: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2018 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrating excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That we offer heartfelt thanks to these extraordinary educators who face so many challenges in the classroom each day, yet persevere, choosing the satisfaction of doing their best and overcoming the frustrations inherent in their jobs, and we extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send seven enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Longbine.

Senate Resolution No. 1781 was sponsored by Senators Longbine, Billinger, Givens, Hawk, Masterson, Petersen and Skubal.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.
 Secretary of the Senate.