SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1790

A Resolution congratulating and commending the members of the Baldwin High School girls basketball team for their Class 4A-II state championship.

WHEREAS, The Baldwin High School girls basketball team won the Kansas Class 4A-II state championship with a one-point win over Andale at the state championship game on March 10, 2018; and

WHEREAS, This is the third state championship for the team, with previous wins in 1982 and 1996; and

WHEREAS, In 2015, the team was the state runner-up and qualified for the tournament in 2016; and

WHEREAS, The team amassed a season record of 24-1, the best in the school's history;

WHEREAS, The Baldwin Bulldogs were the undefeated Frontier League champions with a league record of 12-0; and

WHEREAS, The 2018 team completed the best four-year stretch in the school's history with a record of 83-12, including a 33-game home winning streak; and

WHEREAS, In this year's state tournament, the team set a record for the most points recorded in a single game in an 86-46 victory over Frontenac, along with the record for most points in a state tournament with 204; and

WHEREAS, Members of the team include seniors Reilly Stewart, Abby Ogle, McKinley Markley, Kailee Johnson and Alexia Nelson; juniors Carly Lindenmeyer, Kayla Kurtz, Kate Ogle, Macey Frost, Rian Gere and Paige Ellis; and sophomore Josephine Boyle; and

WHEREAS, The team was coached by Bob Martin, with assistant coaches Eric Toot and Katie Marten, athletic director and athletic trainer Gary Stevanus, team statistician Susie Martin and managers Audrey Flowers, Alexis Flory, Riley Russel, Alper Ahmed, Karly Toot, Karly Neufeld and Cameron Johnson: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the members of the Baldwin High School girls basketball team for their Class 4A-II state championship and their success this year; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 24 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Holland.

Senate Resolution No. 1790 was sponsored by Senator Tom Holland. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.