
Licensure, Certification, Registration, and Employment Requirements and 
Defining “Safety Sensitive Positions”; Senate Sub. for Senate Sub. for HB 
2386

Senate  Sub.  for  Senate  Sub.  for  HB  2386 amends  law  related  to  licensure, 
certification, or registration (licensure) qualifications; amends qualifications for employment at 
adult care homes, hospitals, and home health agencies; and adds all employees of the Kansas 
Commission on Veterans’ Affairs Office (KCVAO) to the definition of “safety sensitive positions” 
found in law. 

Licensure Qualifications

The bill requires any person, board, commission, or similar body (board) that determines 
the qualifications of individuals for licensure to revise their requirements to list the specific civil 
and  criminal  records  (record)  that  could  disqualify  an  applicant  from  receiving  a  license, 
certification, or registration (license). The revision must occur within 180 days after the effective 
date of the bill.

The  board  may  list  only  any  disqualifying  records  directly  related  to  protecting  the 
general welfare and the duties and responsibilities for such entities. In no case are non-specific 
terms,  such as “moral  turpitude”  or  “good character,”  or  any arrests  that  do not  result  in  a 
conviction, to be used to disqualify an individual’s application for licensure.

The bill mandates the record cannot not be used to disqualify the individual for licensure 
for  more  than  five  years  from  the  date  of  conviction  unless  the  conviction  is  a  class  A 
misdemeanor, felony, sexually violent crime, or any conviction for which issuing a license would 
conflict with federal law, and the individual has not been convicted of any other crime in the five 
years immediately preceding the application for a license.

The bill allows any individual with a record to petition the board responsible for licensure 
at  any  time  for  an  informal,  written  advisory  opinion  (opinion)  concerning  whether  the 
individual’s record would disqualify the individual from obtaining a license. The petition includes 
details of the record. The board is required to issue the opinion within 120 days of receiving the 
petition and the opinion is to be non-binding. The board is authorized to charge up to $50 for the 
review and issuance of the opinion in response to the petition.

Agencies Exempted from Licensure Provisions

The bill  exempts  the  following  entities  from the  bill’s  provisions  related  to  licensure 
qualifications:

● Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training;

● Kansas Highway Patrol; 

● Board of Accountancy;
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● Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board; 

● State Board of Healing Arts;

● State Board of Pharmacy;

● Emergency Medical Services Board;

● Board of Nursing;

● Kansas Real Estate Commission;

● Kansas Insurance Department;

● Office of the Attorney General;

● Any municipality, as defined in KSA 75-6102; and 

● Any profession that has an educational requirement for licensure that requires a 
degree beyond a bachelor’s degree.

The  bill  requires  all  boards  to  adopt  and  publicly  maintain  all  necessary  rules  and 
regulations for the implementation of the bill.

Qualifications for Employment at Adult Care Homes, Hospitals, and Home Health 
Agencies

Conviction of Crimes Subject to a Complete Prohibition

The bill creates and amends law related to qualifications for employment at adult care 
homes, hospitals, and home health agencies, and defines terms related to the provisions of the 
bill.

Continuing  law  provides  that  persons  convicted  of  certain  crimes  as  an  adult,  or 
adjudicated as a juvenile, may not be employed at an adult care home. The bill expands such 
classes of  persons to include persons who have adverse findings  on any state  or  national 
registry, which are defined by the Secretary for Aging and Disability Services (Secretary) in rules 
and regulations. The bill specifies that the provisions of this section of the bill do not apply to 
persons currently participating in or upon successful completion of a diversion agreement, or 
who  had  been  employed  by  an  adult  care  home  on  or  before  July  1,  2018,  and  were 
continuously employed by the same adult care home.

Continuing law provides that any person convicted of theft may not be employed at listed 
facilities unless such person was employed at the facility on July 1, 2010, and while such person 
is continuously employed by the same adult care home. The bill clarifies that the prohibition 
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does not apply to persons who were employed by an adult care home either on or before July 1, 
2010. The bill  further provides that the prohibition does not apply during or upon successful 
completion of a diversion agreement.

Conviction of Crimes Subject to a Six-year Prohibition

Continuing law allows an adult care home to employ persons convicted of certain listed 
crimes if six or more years have elapsed since the applicant satisfied the sentence imposed or 
was discharged from supervision. The bill clarifies that the sentence must be completed, or the 
individual be released from supervision. The bill also allows employment of an applicant who 
has been granted a waiver of the six-year disqualification. The bill removes certain crimes from 
the list of those having a six-year disqualification.

The bill subjects the following additional crimes to the six-year employment prohibition:

● Interference with custody of a committed person;

● Mistreatment of a confined person;

● Unlawful administration of a substance;

● Violation of a protective order;

● Promoting obscenity or promoting obscenity to minors; or

● Cruelty to animals.

The  bill  also  subjects  the  following  felony  convictions  to  the  six-year  employment 
prohibition:

● Unlawful manufacture of a controlled substance;

● Unlawful cultivation or distribution of a controlled substance;

● Unlawful  cultivation  or  distribution  of  a  controlled  substance  using  a 
communication facility;

● Unlawful obtainment or sale of a prescription-only drug;

● Unlawful distribution of drug precursors or drug paraphernalia;

● Unlawful distribution or possession of a simulated controlled substance;

● Forgery;
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● Criminal use of a financial card;

● Violation of the Kansas Medicaid Fraud Control Act;

● Making a false claim, statement, or representation to the Medicaid program;

● Unlawful acts relating to the Medicaid program;

● Obstruction of a Medicaid fraud investigation;

● Identity theft or identity fraud; or

● Social welfare fraud.

The bill provides that the prohibition of employment of persons convicted of the above 
crimes does not apply to persons employed by an adult care home on or before July 1, 2018, 
and while such person is continuously employed by the same adult care home, or to any person 
during or upon successful completion of a diversion agreement. 

The bill also provides that any person subject to a six-year prohibition of employment at 
a  facility  may apply to the Secretary for  a waiver  if  five or  more years have passed since 
completion of the sentence associated with the disqualifying conviction.

The bill  directs  the Secretary to  adopt  rules  and regulations  establishing the  waiver 
process and criteria to be considered in evaluating any such waiver request. 

Release of Records

The bill directs the Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI) to release all records of adult 
and juvenile convictions and adjudications, and records pertaining to the same from other states 
or countries, concerning persons working in adult care homes. The KBI is authorized to charge 
the  Kansas  Department  for  Aging  and  Disability  Services  (KDADS)  a  reasonable  fee  for 
providing these records. 

Fingerprinting of Applicants

The bill requires KDADS to require applicants to be fingerprinted and to submit to a state 
and national criminal history record check.  Fingerprints are used to identify persons and to 
determine whether the applicant has a record of criminal history in Kansas or other jurisdictions.

The bill authorizes KDADS to submit fingerprints to the KBI and the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation (FBI) for such criminal history checks. KDADS is allowed to use the information 
obtained from fingerprinting and the criminal history record check to verify the identify of the 
person and for making an official determination of the qualifications and fitness of the person to 
work in the adult care home.
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Applicants are given 20 days to submit fingerprints through an authorized collection site 
in  order  to  be  eligible  for  provisional  employment,  or  the  applicant’s  application  will  be 
considered withdrawn.

The bill also requires current or prospective employers of applicants to pay a fee not to 
exceed $19 to KDADS for each applicant’s criminal history record check. Such fee is paid at the 
time of fingerprinting to the authorized collection site.

Criminal History Record Check Dispute and Waiver

If applicants dispute the contents of a criminal history record check, the applicant may 
file an appeal with the KBI.

The bill allows persons who have been disqualified for employment by reason of their 
criminal history records, and who have submitted fingerprints, to apply for a waiver with KDADS 
within 30 days of receipt of notice of employment prohibition.

KDADS is directed to adopt rules and regulations specifying the criteria and procedure 
for issuing a waiver of the employment prohibition. The Secretary is directed to consider the 
following criteria in granting a waiver:

● Passage of time;

● Extenuating circumstances;

● Demonstration of rehabilitation; and

● Relevancy of criminal history information to the position for which the applicant is 
applying.

Any employment prohibition issued remains in effect unless or until a waiver is granted.

Eligibility Determination

The bill requires adult care home operators to request eligibility determinations regarding 
adult  and  juvenile  convictions  and  adjudications  from  KDADS.  The  bill  also  requires 
independent contractors that provide employees to work in adult care homes to provide written 
certification of the employment eligibility of such employees.

The Secretary is directed to provide a pass or fail  determination after  review of  any 
criminal  history  record  information  in  writing  within  three  working  days  of  receipt  of  such 
information from the KBI or the FBI.
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Provisional Employment

The bill allows adult care home operators to hire applicants on a one-time provisional 
basis of 60 calendar days, pending the results of the criminal history record check. Provisional 
employees may be supervised only by employees who completed all training required by federal 
regulations,  rules  and  regulations  of  KDADS,  and  the  adult  care  home’s  policies  and 
procedures.

Continuing law provides that no adult care homes, operators or employees of an adult 
care home, or an employment agency will be liable for civil damages arising from the decision to 
employ, refuse to employ, or to discharge from employment any person based on compliance 
with the above provisions,  if  such home or employment agency acts in  good faith.  The bill 
includes independent contractors in these liability provisions.

Exclusion from Criminal History Record Check

The bill  specifies that  persons continuously employed by the same adult  care home 
since  July  1,  1992,  are  not  subject  to  a  criminal  history  record  check  while  continuously 
employed by such adult care home.

Prior law excluded volunteers who work in adult care homes from the criminal history 
check requirements without exception. The bill specifies that volunteers at adult care homes are 
not subject to the provisions of the bill unless they perform functions equivalent to those of direct 
access employees.

The bill also specifies that applicants who have been subject to a criminal history record 
check within the previous year are not required to submit to a subsequent criminal history record 
check.

Fees, Deposit

The bill directs the Secretary to establish fees for criminal history record checks through 
rules and regulations. All fees collected and remitted to KDADS for charges related to criminal 
history record checks are remitted to the State Treasurer (Treasurer). The Treasurer is directed 
to deposit the entire amount in the State Treasury to the credit of the State Licensure Fee Fund.

Implementation of Criminal History Checks

The bill allows KDADS to implement the criminal history check provisions in phases for 
different categories of employers. KDADS is directed to adopt rules and regulations establishing 
dates and procedures for the implementation of criminal history record checks, and such dates 
may be staggered to facilitate implementation.

Submission of Fingerprints by Other State Agencies

The bill provides, upon authorization by the Secretary, other state agencies could submit 
fingerprints  for  state  and  national  criminal  history  record  checks  and  review  the  resulting 
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criminal  history  and  records  as  part  of  the  screening  process  for  current  or  prospective 
employees.

Authorized agencies and providers could access an  Internet-based application portal 
operated and maintained by KDADS for  the purposes of  processing criminal  history record 
information requests. Agencies are prohibited from sharing criminal history record information or 
the resulting pass or fail determinations with any other agency. The Secretary may charge an 
authorized agency $1 per request.

Employment in Hospitals

The bill subjects applicants for employment in a center, facility, hospital, or a provider of 
services to the same provisions applied to adult care homes as described above. The bill also 
provides that  the following crimes will  result  in  a prohibition of  employment  (this is  already 
present in law for adult care home workers):

● Capital murder;

● First degree murder;

● Second degree murder;

● Voluntary manslaughter;

● Assisting suicide;

● Mistreatment of a dependent adult or mistreatment of an elder person;

● Human trafficking;

● Aggravated human trafficking;

● Rape;

● Indecent liberties with a child;

● Aggravated indecent liberties with a child;

● Aggravated criminal sodomy;

● Indecent solicitation of a child;

● Aggravated indecent solicitation of a child;

Kansas Legislative Research Department 7 2018 Summary of Legislation



● Sexual exploitation of a child;

● Sexual battery;

● Aggravated sexual battery;

● Commercial sexual exploitation of a child; and

● Attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the listed crimes, or similar statutes of 
other states or the federal government.

Prohibition of Operation

Continuing  law  prohibits  a  licensee  from  operating  a  center,  facility,  or  hospital  or 
providing services if such licensee has been found to be an adult with impairment in need of a 
guardian, conservator, or both. The bill specifies the prohibition does not apply to licensees who, 
as a minor,  were found to be in need of  a guardian or  conservator  for  reasons other than 
impairment.

Employment by Home Health Agencies

The bill  subjects applicants for employment at home health agencies or employment 
agencies, or as an independent contractor that provides staff to a home health agency to the 
same provisions applied to applicants in adult care homes and hospitals as described above.

Drug Screening for Safety Sensitive Positions

The bill adds all employees of the KCVAO to the definition of “safety sensitive positions” 
in law.

The Director of the Division of Personnel Services, Department of Administration, has 
the authority to establish and implement drug screening programs for safety sensitive positions, 
including  the  ability  to  screen  applicants  for  illegal  drug  use  upon  a  conditional  offer  of 
employment  and  to  screen  employees  upon  reasonable  suspicion  of  illegal  drug  use. 
Previously, only employees of the State’s veterans’ homes were subject to a drug screening 
upon reasonable suspicion of illegal drug use.

“Safety sensitive positions” include:

● All state law enforcement officers authorized to carry firearms;

● All state corrections officers;

● All state parole officers;
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● Heads of state agencies who are appointed by the Governor and employees on 
the Governor’s staff;

● All employees with access to secure facilities of a correctional institution;

● All employees of a juvenile correctional facility;

● All employees within an institution of mental health; and

● All  employees with access  to a  secured biological  laboratory in  the  Office of 
Laboratory Services, Kansas Department of Health and Environment.
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