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HB 2454 amends various statutes related to juvenile offenders.

Detention Hearings

The  bill  amends  the  statute  in  the  Revised  Kansas  Juvenile  Justice  Code  (Code) 
governing detention hearings to expand the permitted use of two-way electronic audio-visual 
communication between the juvenile and the judge from detention hearings only to all hearings 
under the section, including the detention review hearings required every 14 days while the 
juvenile is in detention. The bill  further amends law related to detention review hearings by 
adding  a  provision  stating  such  hearings  are  not  required  for  a  juvenile  offender  held  in 
detention  awaiting  case  disposition.  The  bill  amends  the  Code  statute  governing  post-
adjudication orders and hearings to require, if a juvenile offender is being held in detention, that 
a dispositional hearing for sentencing take place within 45 days after the juvenile has been 
adjudicated. 

Tolling of Probation Term and Case Length Limits

The bill amends the statute governing probation term limits and overall case length limits 
in the Code to clarify that  when such limits are tolled due to the offender absconding from 
supervision while on probation, the limits shall not begin to run again until the offender is located 
and brought back to the jurisdiction. The bill also clarifies, if the juvenile fails to appear for the 
dispositional hearing, such limits shall not apply until the juvenile is brought before the court for 
disposition. 

Duties of Oversight Committee

The bill amends one of the statutory duties of the Kansas Juvenile Justice Oversight 
Committee  (Juvenile  Oversight  Committee)  to  require  the  Juvenile  Oversight  Committee  to 
“monitor,” rather than “calculate,” any state expenditures that have been avoided by reductions 
in the number of youth placed in out-of-home placements. A corresponding requirement that a 
summary of such averted costs be included in the Juvenile Oversight Committee’s annual report 
is changed from “calculated by the committee” to “determined.”
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