
Revised Uniform Anatomical Gift Act Amendments; Designation on Driver’s 
License or Identification Card; Healthcare Provider Liability Exemption; HB 
2472

HB  2472 places  a  question  as  to  an  individual’s  willingness  to  give  his  or  her 
authorization to be listed as an organ, eye,  and tissue donor in the Kansas Donor Registry 
(Registry) in accordance with the Revised Uniform Anatomical Gift Act (Act) on the applications 
for a driver’s license, renewal of a driver’s license, and an identification card and on the notice 
of a driver’s license expiration. The bill requires the word “donor” be placed on the front of the 
driver’s license or identification card of an individual who provides authorization to be listed in 
the Registry on an application for a driver’s license or an identification card. 

Further, the bill amends the Act regarding the persons authorized to make an anatomical 
gift  upon  a  decedent’s  death,  adds  a  definition  for  “healthcare  provider,”  and  provides  an 
exemption from liability for such providers. 

Declaration of Intent to Gift

The bill removes the requirement that an individual 16 years of age or older to whom a 
Kansas driver’s license has been issued, and who desires to make an anatomical gift, sign a 
form in the presence of two witnesses stating a desire to make such a gift.  Instead, the bill 
requires an application for a driver’s license, a notice of a driver’s license expiration or renewal 
application, and an application for an identification card include a question as to the applicant’s 
willingness  to  authorize  the  placement  of  the  applicant’s  name  in  the  Registry.  Such 
authorization on a driver’s license application by a person 16 years of age or older or on an 
application for an identification card by any person makes the anatomical gift effective upon the 
death of the donor. [Note: Prior law required a parent or guardian of an applicant under 16 years 
of  age  to  sign  the  application  for  a  driver’s  license  or  identification  card  submitted  by  the 
applicant.]  Persons authorizing placement of their  names in the Registry will  have the word 
“donor” placed on the front of their driver’s license or identification card.

Persons Authorized to Make a Gift 

With regard to the classes of  individuals  authorized to make an anatomical  gift  of  a 
decedent’s body or part for transplantation, therapy, research, or education, the bill removes 
adult  siblings of  a decedent  from the list  of  classes requiring approval  by a majority of  the 
members of the class if an objection of another member of the class is known. Both parents of a 
decedent, if living and available to decide, must agree to make the anatomical gift. 

Healthcare Provider Liability Exemption

The bill defines “healthcare provider” under the Act to mean the same as in the Health 
Care Provider Insurance Availability Act. A healthcare provider is exempt from liability in a civil 
action, criminal prosecution, or administrative proceeding when acting in good faith with the Act 
or the applicable anatomical gift law of another state. 
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