State Interoperability Advisory Committee; Sub. for HB 2556

Sub. for HB 2556 establishes the State Interoperability Advisory Committee (Committee) in statute. Previously, a State Interoperability Executive Committee existed by executive order.

The Committee provides input to the Adjutant General's Department (TAG) for the development and deployment of centralized interoperable communications planning and implementation capacity for Kansas. Specifically, the bill directs the Committee to make recommendations to TAG related to:

- Increasing communications and interagency coordination regarding informing the public of public safety risks and operations;
- Statewide contracts for public safety communications equipment, software, and consulting services;
- Revisions to the State Communications Interoperability Plan;
- Assessment of institutions and organizations that benefit from services provided;
- Development, release, and review of requests for proposals and awarding contracts for public safety communications technology public-private partnerships; and
- Other opportunities to improve public safety communications as the Committee deems appropriate.

The bill also requires the Committee to assist with the development of policies and procedures that increase communications and interagency coordination for the purpose of enhancing public safety interoperable communications.

The Committee does not have the authority to:

- Require certification of public safety agencies or employees;
- Require training or establish mandatory training standards beyond what is necessary for the operation, care, and security of interoperable communications systems and plans developed by the Committee; or
- Limit local purchasing options for equipment compatible with the interoperability plan.

2018 Summary of Legislation

Organization and Membership

The Committee is overseen by the State Emergency Management Director (Director), who appoints a Statewide Interoperability Coordinator (Coordinator) to administer the Committee's business, serve as the Committee's chairperson, and act on the Committee's behalf. The chairperson appoints the vice-chairperson of the Committee.

Members of the Committee include:

- The Director (defined in the bill as the Adjutant General for the State of Kansas, or the Adjutant General's designee);
- The Coordinator;
- The Secretary of Transportation, or the Secretary's designee;
- The Superintendent of the Highway Patrol, or the Superintendent's designee;
- The Executive Branch Chief Information Security Officer, or the Officer's designee;
- A tribal representative appointed by the Governor;
- The 911 Coordinating Council Administrator, or the Administrator's designee;
- The Chief Executive Officer of the Board of Regents, or the Chief Executive Officer's designee; and
- One member appointed by each of the following associations:
 - Kansas Association of Public Safety Communications Officials;
 - Kansas Sheriffs' Association;
 - Emergency Medical Services Board;
 - Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police;
 - Kansas State Association of Fire Chiefs;
 - Mid-America Regional Council;
 - League of Kansas Municipalities;
 - Kansas Association of Counties; and
 - Kansas Emergency Management Association.

Executive branch members serve until succeeded; each non-executive branch member serves a three-year term beginning on August 1, 2018, and is eligible to serve more than one term. Members may be removed for cause by a majority vote of the Committee, or by their appointing or designating authority. Vacancies are filled in the same manner as provided for the original member.

The Committee is required to meet at least once per quarter of the calendar year, with the first meeting to take place prior to September 1, 2018. All actions of the Committee require a majority vote by members present when there is a quorum (majority of voting members).

Executive Subcommittee

The bill establishes an executive subcommittee that assists in the administration of the Committee's business when the full Committee is not meeting, and is allowed to conduct any Committee business delegated to it by the full Committee. The subcommittee includes the Director, Coordinator, Secretary of Transportation or the Secretary's designee, and Superintendent of the Highway Patrol or the Superintendent's designee.

Working Groups

The bill also allows the chairperson to appoint and convene working groups to address specific interoperability and communications requirements, research topics, and make recommendations. The chairperson is authorized to add subject matter experts to the working groups on an *ad hoc* basis. Each working group will meet at least once every quarter of the calendar year on the call of the Director, Coordinator, or working group chairperson.

Working groups will make recommendations to the Committee related to:

- Improving interagency communications, training, and exercise coordination;
- Improving effective receipt of information from, and communicating information to, the public;
- Improving logistics coordination during on-site events;
- Evaluating communication and communication protection technologies and recommending procurement standards;
- Identifying and promoting anti-intrusion technologies for communications from individuals to public safety agencies;
- Identifying methods to protect sensitive public safety operations from placement on social media sites that deliberately or inadvertently place public safety workers at risk;
- Identifying and collecting relevant public safety communications systems and equipment performance metrics; and
- Other responsibilities as assigned by the chairperson.

The Office of the Director will provide staff support for the Committee and working groups.