2018 Kansas Statutes

8-235e. Application for driver's license, instructional permit or nondriver's identification card
constitutes consent to selective service registration. (a) Any person, who is subject to registration under the
provisions of section 3 of the military selective service act, 50 U.S.C. App. section 453, as amended, and who
applies for any driver's license or instructional permit under the provisions of article 2 of chapter 8 of the Kansas
Statutes Annotated, or any nondriver's identification card under the provisions of K.S.A. 8-1324 through 8-1334,
and amendments thereto, or any renewal of such driver's license, instructional permit or nondriver's
identification card and who is at least 16 years of age but less than 26 years of age shall consent to such
applicant's registration in compliance with the requirements of section 3 of the military selective service act, 50
U.S.C. App. section 453, as amended.

(b) The division of vehicles shall forward, in an electronic format, the necessary personal information of the
applicants identified in subsection (a), to the selective service system. The applicant's signature on the
application shall serve as an indication that the applicant either has already registered with the selective service
system or that the applicant is authorizing the division of vehicles to forward to the selective service system the
necessary information for such registration. The division of vehicles shall notify the applicant that the applicant's
submission of the application will serve as the applicant's consent to registration with the selective service
system, if such registration is required by federal law.

History: L. 2003, ch. 41, §1; July 1.



