2018 Kansas Statutes

32-1049a. Failure to comply with a wildlife, parks and tourism citation; penalties; reinstatement fee
for license or permit suspension; waiver, military personnel; fee authorized only by legislative
enactment. (a) Failure to comply with a wildlife, parks and tourism citation means failure to:
(1) Appear before any district court in response to a wildlife, parks and tourism citation and pay in full any fine,
court costs, assessments or fees imposed;
(2) fully pay or satisfy all fines, court costs, assessments or fees imposed as a part of the sentence of any district
court for violation of the wildlife, parks and tourism laws of this state; or
(3) otherwise comply with a wildlife, parks and tourism citation as provided in K.S.A. 32-1049, and amendments
thereto.
Failure to comply with a wildlife, parks and tourism citation is a class C misdemeanor, regardless of the
disposition of the charge for which such citation, complaint or charge was originally issued.
(b) The term "citation" means any complaint, summons, notice to appear, ticket, warrant, penalty assessment or
other official document issued for the prosecution of the wildlife, parks and tourism laws or rules and regulations
of this state.
(c) In addition to penalties of law applicable under subsection (a) when a person fails to comply with a wildlife,
parks and tourism citation or sentence for a violation of wildlife, parks and tourism laws or rules and regulations,
the district court in which the person should have complied shall mail a notice to the person that if the person
does not appear in the district court or pay all fines, court costs, assessments or fees, and any penalties imposed
within 30 days from the date of mailing, the Kansas department of wildlife, parks and tourism shall be notified to
forfeit or suspend any license, permit, stamp or other issue of the department. Upon receipt of a report of a
failure to comply with a wildlife, parks and tourism citation under this section, and amendments thereto, the
department shall notify the violator and suspend or forfeit the license, permit, stamp or other issue of the
department held by the violator until satisfactory evidence of compliance with the wildlife, parks and tourism
citation or sentence of the district court for violation of the wildlife, parks and tourism laws or rules and
regulations of this state are furnished to the informing court. Upon receipt of notification of such compliance from
the informing court, the department shall terminate the suspension action, unless the violator is otherwise
suspended.
(d) Except as provided in subsection (e), when the district court notifies the department of a failure to comply
with a wildlife, parks and tourism citation or failure to comply with a sentence of the district court imposed on
violation of a wildlife, parks and tourism law or rule and regulation, the court shall assess a reinstatement fee of
$50 for each charge or sentence on which the person failed to make satisfaction, regardless of the disposition of
the charge for which such citation was originally issued. Such reinstatement fee shall be in addition to any fine,
court costs and other assessments, fees or penalties. The court shall remit all reinstatement fees to the state
treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each
remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury and shall credit such moneys
to the state general fund.
(e) The district court shall waive the reinstatement fee provided for in subsection (d), if the failure to comply
with a wildlife, parks and tourism citation was the result of such person enlisting in or being drafted into the
armed services of the United States of America, being called into service as a member of a reserve component of
the military service of the United States of America, or volunteering for such active duty or being called into
service as a member of the Kansas national guard or volunteering for such active duty and being absent from
Kansas because of such military service. The state treasurer and the director of accounts and reports shall
prescribe procedures for all such reimbursement payments and shall create appropriate accounts, make
appropriate accounting entries and issue such appropriate vouchers and warrants as may be required to make
such reimbursement payments.
(f) Except as provided further, the reinstatement fee established in subsection (d) shall be the only fee collected
or moneys in the nature of a fee collected for such reinstatement. Such fee shall only be established by an act of
the legislature and no other authority is established by law or otherwise to collect a fee. On and after July 1,
2017, through June 30, 2019, the supreme court may impose an additional charge, not to exceed $22 per
reinstatement fee, to fund the costs of non-judicial personnel.
History: L. 2008, ch. 10, § 1; L. 2012, ch. 66, § 11; L. 2013, ch. 125, § 11; L. 2015, ch. 81, § 17; L. 2017, ch. 80, §
13; July 1.

Section was also amended by L. 2012, ch. 47, § 64, but that version was repealed by L. 2012, ch. 166, § 24.



