2018 Kansas Statutes

40-3610. Same; persons required to cooperate with commissioner; definitions; civil and criminal
penalties and supervision or revocation of licenses for failure to cooperate or obstruction or
interference with commissioner. (a) Any officer, manager, director, trustee, owner, employee or agent of any
insurer, or any other persons with authority over or in charge of any segment of the insurer's affairs, shall
cooperate with the commissioner in any proceeding under this act or any investigation preliminary to the
proceeding. The term "person" as used in this section, shall include any person who exercises control directly or
indirectly over activities of the insurer through any holding company or other affiliate of the insurer. "To
cooperate" shall include, but shall not be limited to, the following:

(1) To reply promptly in writing to any inquiry from the commissioner requesting such a reply; and

(2) to make available to the commissioner any books, accounts, documents or other records or information
or property of or pertaining to the insurer and in the insurer's possession, custody or control.

(b) No person shall obstruct or interfere with the commissioner in the conduct of any delinquency
proceeding or any investigation preliminary or incidental thereto.

(c) This section shall not be construed to abridge otherwise existing legal rights, including the right to resist
a petition for liquidation or other delinquency proceedings, or other orders.

(d) Any person included within subsection (a) who fails to cooperate with the commissioner, or any person
who obstructs or interferes with the commissioner in the conduct of any delinquency proceeding or any
investigation preliminary or incidental thereto, or who violates any order the commissioner issued validly under
this act may:

(1) Be sentenced to pay a fine not exceeding $10,000 or to imprisonment for a term of not more than one
year, or both; or

(2) after a hearing held in accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure act, be subject to the
imposition by the commissioner of a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 and shall be subject further to the
revocation or suspension of any insurance licenses issued by the commissioner.

History: L. 1991, ch. 125, § 6; July 1.



