
2018	Kansas	Statutes

40-4503. Licensure	 of	 reinsurance	 brokers,	 managers	 and	 intermediaries,	 application	 fee;
nonresidents,	 designation	 of	 agent	 for	 service	 of	 process;	 refund	 of	 commissioner	 to	 issue	 license;
exemption	for	attorneys.	 (a)	No	person,	 firm,	association	or	corporation	shall	act	as	a	reinsurance	broker	 in
this	state	if	the	reinsurance	broker	maintains	an	office	either	directly	or	as	a	member	or	employee	of	a	firm	or
association,	or	as	an	officer,	director	or	employee	of	a	corporation:

(1) In	this	state,	unless	such	reinsurance	broker	is	a	licensed	producer	in	this	state;	or
(2) in	 another	 state,	 unless	 such	 reinsurance	 broker	 is	 a	 licensed	 producer	 in	 this	 state	 or	 another	 state

having	a	law	substantially	similar	to	this	act	or	such	reinsurance	broker	is	licensed	in	this	state	as	a	nonresident
reinsurance	intermediary.

(b) No	person,	firm,	association	or	corporation	shall	act	as	a	reinsurance	manager:
(1) For	a	reinsurer	domiciled	in	this	state,	unless	such	reinsurance	manager	is	a	 licensed	producer	in	this

state;
(2) in	this	state,	if	the	reinsurance	manager	maintains	an	office	either	directly	or	as	a	member	or	employee

of	a	firm	or	association,	or	an	officer,	director	or	employee	of	a	corporation	in	this	state,	unless	such	reinsurance
manager	is	a	licensed	producer	in	this	state;

(3) in	another	state	for	a	nondomestic	 insurer,	unless	such	reinsurance	manager	 is	a	 licensed	producer	 in
this	state	or	another	state	having	a	law	substantially	similar	to	this	act	or	such	person	is	licensed	in	this	state	as	a
nonresident	reinsurance	intermediary.

(c) The	 commissioner	 may	 require	 a	 reinsurance	manager	 subject	 to	 subsection	 (b)	 to	 file	 a	 bond	 in	 an
amount	from	an	insurer	acceptable	to	the	commissioner	for	the	protection	of	each	reinsurer	represented.

(d)	 (1) The	commissioner	may	 issue	a	reinsurance	 intermediary	 license	to	any	person,	 firm,	association	or
corporation	 who	 has	 complied	 with	 the	 requirements	 of	 this	 act.	 Before	 any	 such	 license	may	 be	 issued,	 the
applicant	 shall	 submit	 proper	 application	 therefor	 on	 a	 form	 prescribed	 by	 the	 commissioner	 which	 shall	 be
accompanied	 by	 an	 initial	 fee	 of	 $150.	 Any	 license	 so	 issued	 shall	 remain	 in	 effect	 until	 suspended,	 revoked,
voluntarily	surrendered	or	otherwise	terminated	by	the	commissioner	or	licensee	subject	to	payment	of	an	annual
continuation	fee	of	$100	on	or	before	May	1	of	each	year.	Any	such	license	 issued	to	a	firm	or	association	will
authorize	 all	 the	 members	 of	 such	 firm	 or	 association	 and	 any	 designated	 employees	 to	 act	 as	 reinsurance
intermediaries	under	 the	 license,	and	all	 such	persons	 shall	be	named	 in	 the	application	and	any	 supplements
thereto.	Any	such	license	issued	to	a	corporation	shall	authorize	all	of	the	officers,	and	any	designated	employees
and	directors	 thereof,	 to	act	as	reinsurance	 intermediaries	on	behalf	of	such	corporation,	and	all	 such	persons
shall	be	named	in	the	application	and	any	supplements	thereto.

(2) If	 the	applicant	 for	a	reinsurance	 intermediary	 license	 is	a	nonresident,	 such	applicant,	as	a	condition
precedent	to	receiving	or	holding	a	license,	shall	designate	the	commissioner	as	agent	for	service	of	process	in
the	manner,	and	with	 the	same	 legal	effect,	as	 is	provided	 for	by	 this	act	 for	designation	of	service	of	process
upon	 insurers	holding	a	Kansas	certificate	of	authority.	Such	applicant	shall	 furnish	the	commissioner	with	the
name	 and	 address	 of	 a	 resident	 of	 this	 state	 upon	 whom	 notices	 or	 orders	 of	 the	 commissioner	 or	 process
affecting	 such	 nonresident	 reinsurance	 intermediary	 may	 be	 served.	 Such	 licensee	 shall	 promptly	 notify	 the
commissioner	in	writing	of	every	change	in	its	designated	agent	for	service	of	process,	and	such	change	shall	not
become	effective	until	acknowledged	by	the	commissioner.

(e) The	 commissioner	 may,	 after	 a	 hearing	 conducted	 in	 accordance	 with	 the	 provisions	 of	 the	 Kansas
administrative	procedure	act,	held	on	not	 less	 than	20	days'	notice,	 refuse	 to	 issue	a	reinsurance	 intermediary
license	if,	in	the	judgment	of	the	commissioner,	the	applicant,	any	one	named	on	the	application,	or	any	member,
principal,	officer	or	director	of	the	applicant,	is	not	trustworthy,	or	any	controlling	person	of	such	applicant	is	not
trustworthy	 to	 act	 as	 a	 reinsurance	 intermediary,	 or	 any	 of	 the	 foregoing	 has	 given	 cause	 for	 revocation	 or
suspension	of	such	license,	or	has	failed	to	comply	with	any	prerequisite	for	the	issuance	of	such	license.

(f) Licensed	attorneys	at	law	in	this	state	when	acting	in	their	professional	capacity	as	such	shall	be	exempt
from	this	section.

History: L.	1992,	ch.	15,	§	3;	L.	2004,	ch.	159,	§	4;	May	27.


