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50-1129. Same;	 cease	and	desist	 orders;	 civil	 fines.	 (a)	 If	 the	 commissioner	 determines	 after	 notice	 and
opportunity	for	a	hearing	pursuant	to	the	Kansas	administrative	procedure	act	that	any	person	has	engaged,	 is
engaging	or	is	about	to	engage	in	any	act	or	practice	constituting	a	violation	of	any	provision	of	this	act	or	any
rule	and	regulation	promulgated	or	order	issued	thereunder,	the	commissioner	by	order	may	require	any	or	all	of
the	following:
(1) That	the	person	cease	and	desist	from	the	unlawful	act	or	practice;
(2) that	the	person	pay	a	fine	not	to	exceed	$10,000	per	incident	for	the	unlawful	act	or	practice;
(3) if	any	person	is	found	to	have	violated	any	provision	of	this	act	and	such	violation	is	committed	against	elder
or	 disabled	 persons	 as	 defined	 in	 K.S.A.	 50-676,	 and	 amendments	 thereto,	 the	 commissioner	 may	 impose	 an
additional	 penalty	 not	 to	 exceed	 $10,000	 for	 each	 such	 violation,	 in	 addition	 to	 any	 civil	 penalty	 otherwise
provided	by	law;
(4) issue	an	order	requiring	the	person	to	pay	restitution	for	any	loss	arising	from	the	violation	or	requiring	the
person	to	disgorge	any	profits	arising	from	the	violation.	Such	order	may	include	the	assessment	of	interest	not	to
exceed	8%	per	annum	from	the	date	of	the	violation;
(5) that	 the	 person	 take	 such	 affirmative	 action	 as	 in	 the	 judgment	 of	 the	 commissioner	 will	 carry	 out	 the
purposes	of	this	act;	or
(6) that	the	person	be	barred	from	subsequently	applying	for	licensure	under	this	act.
(b) If	 the	 commissioner	makes	written	 findings	 of	 fact	 that	 the	 public	 interest	will	 be	 irreparably	 harmed	 by
delay	in	issuing	an	order	under	subsection	(a),	the	commissioner	may	issue	an	emergency	cease	and	desist	order.
(1) Such	 emergency	 order,	 even	 when	 not	 an	 order	 within	 the	 meaning	 of	 K.S.A.	 77-502,	 and	 amendments
thereto,	 shall	 be	 subject	 to	 the	 same	 procedures	 as	 an	 emergency	 order	 issued	 under	 K.S.A.	 77-536,	 and
amendments	thereto.
(2) Upon	the	entry	of	such	an	emergency	order,	the	commissioner	shall	promptly	notify	the	person	subject	to	the
order	that	it	has	been	entered,	of	the	reasons,	and	that	a	hearing	will	be	held	upon	written	request	by	the	person.
(3) If	 the	person	requests	a	hearing,	or	 in	 the	absence	of	any	 request,	 if	 the	commissioner	determines	 that	a
hearing	 should	be	held,	 the	matter	will	 be	 set	 for	 a	hearing	which	 shall	 be	 conducted	 in	 accordance	with	 the
provisions	of	the	Kansas	administrative	procedure	act.	Upon	completion	of	the	hearing	the	commissioner	shall,	by
written	findings	of	fact	and	conclusions	of	law	vacate,	modify	or	make	permanent	the	emergency	order.
(4) If	no	hearing	 is	requested	and	none	 is	ordered	by	 the	commissioner,	 the	emergency	order	shall	 remain	 in
effect	until	such	order	is	modified	or	vacated	by	the	commissioner.
History: L.	2004,	ch.	22,	§	14;	L.	2017,	ch.	52,	§	25;	July	1.


