2018 Kansas Statutes

65-904. When bodies not to be delivered to medical school; burial by relatives or friends;
unclaimed body of deceased inmate. (a) Except as provided by subsection (b), if the deceased person during
such person's last sickness requests to be buried, or if burial is provided for under article 3 of chapter 73 of the
Kansas Statutes Annotated or acts amendatory thereof or supplemental thereto, the body shall not be
surrendered, but shall be buried in the usual manner. No body shall be delivered as provided in K.S.A. 65-902a
and amendments thereto, if claimed by relatives or friends within 72 hours after death, nor shall a body be
delivered as provided in K.S.A. 65-902a and amendments thereto unless the person or persons in charge of the
deceased at the time of death have made diligent search for relatives or friends and no response to the search has
been received within 96 hours after the commencement of such search. No dead body received by the department
of anatomy of the medical school of the university of Kansas under the provisions of this act shall be dissected
prior to 60 days after date of receipt of the dead body. In case the remains of any person so delivered and
received shall be claimed within 60 days by any relative or friend, they shall be given to such relative or friend for
interment.

(b) The unclaimed body of a deceased inmate in the custody of the secretary of corrections may be cremated
at the expense of the department of corrections.

History: L. 1897, ch. 158, § 4; R.S. 1923, 65-904; L. 1951, ch. 359, § 6; L. 1997, ch. 179, § 8; May 22.



