2018 Kansas Statutes

79-3310. Tax on cigarettes imposed; rates. There is imposed a tax upon all cigarettes sold, distributed or
given away within the state of Kansas. On and after July 1, 2015, the rate of such tax shall be $1.29 on each 20
cigarettes or fractional part thereof or $1.61 on each 25 cigarettes, as the case requires. Such tax shall be
collected and paid to the director as provided in this act. Such tax shall be paid only once and shall be paid by the
wholesale dealer first receiving the cigarettes as herein provided.

The taxes imposed by this act are hereby levied upon all sales of cigarettes made to any department, institution or
agency of the state of Kansas, and to the political subdivisions thereof and their departments, institutions and
agencies.

History: L. 1933, ch. 122, § 10 (Special Session); L. 1935, ch. 309, § 2; L. 1939, ch. 329, § 9; L. 1947, ch. 459, §
1; L. 1957, ch. 505, § 1; L. 1964, ch. 37, § 1 (Budget Session); L. 1965, ch. 529, § 1; L. 1967, ch. 498, § 7; L. 1970,
ch. 396, § 1; L. 1983, ch. 329, § 1; L. 1984, ch. 357, § 2; L. 1985, ch. 327, § 1; L. 2002, ch. 185, § 1; L. 2015, ch.
99, § 29; July 1.



