Dear Chairman Barker and Members of the House Federal and State Affairs Committee:

My name is Lene Brooke. I am a parent, a grandparent, a lifelong Kansan, and I volunteer with the Kansas Chapter of Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America. We are a nonpartisan, grassroots gun violence prevention organization dedicated to advancing policies that respect the Second Amendment and protect our communities from gun violence.

Kansas Moms Demand Action volunteers and I oppose HB 2326; it is a dangerous piece of legislation that would further roll back Kansas's gun laws by forcing the state to recognize out of state permits even for those ineligible for Kansas permits. 14 states issue concealed carry permits to teenagers, who are not eligible to carry concealed handguns in public under Kansas law. Of those states, 10 allow certain convicted stalkers to obtain permits; 9 fail to require live-fire handgun safety training; and 6 issue permits to many violent misdemeanor offenders.

There has been much debate about the issue of forcing colleges in Kansas to allow hidden, loaded firearms in their buildings. This committee heard from students, faculty, administrators, and campus law enforcement who all opposed the guns on campus law that ultimately went into effect July 1, 2017, saying that the law would not make campuses safer and would add significant financial strain to the universities. Both of those things have held true.

Kansas State University, the University of Kansas, and Wichita State University have estimated the cost of implementing the law just to prevent concealed handguns in their athletic venues at more than \$2 million. There have been reported instances of firearms being recklessly left in bathrooms, both at KU and Wichita State Universities. Students must decide whether to report classmates who intentionally or unintentionally expose their firearms, thus enforcement has become an onus on students and faculty.

I'm disappointed that this committee has again chosen to take up this piece of legislation that would further aggravate an already challenging issue for our college communities by now allowing 18, 19, and 20 year-olds -from certain states (our neighbor, Missouri, issues concealed carry permits to 19 and 20-year-olds) and states that issue permits to some convicted stalkers and people with no safety training - to carry hidden, loadeds firearms on campuses and other public places. Research shows that 18 to 20-year-olds are nearly four times more likely to commit gun homicides than adults over age 20.

I urge the Committee to reject a provision of HB 2326 that would automatically allow people with permits from other states, including teenagers, convicted stalkers, and people who have never fired a handgun to carry hidden, loaded handguns in public throughout Kansas. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Lene Brooke

Volunteer, Kansas Chapter of Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America