

RACIAL PROFILING ADVISORY BOARD OF WICHITA



2755 E. 19th St. N., Wichita, KS 67214 https://racialprofilingwichitaks.com (316) 249-4243

In Support of HB2434 & Its Amendment Prepared by Sheila Officer

"A GOVERNMENT OF THE PEOPLE, BY THE PEOPLE, AND FOR THE PEOPLE"

My name is Sheila Officer and I am the Chair of the Racial Profiling Citizens Advisory Board of Wichita

It is in that capacity that I stand before you and serve as an instrumental voice for those who could not come to speak.

Kansas License For-Pay DL System

- 200,000 plus families in Kansas live in economic hardship due to suspended/revoked DL.
- 51,000 plus families in Wichita alone are in economic hardship due to suspended/revoked DL.
- Data from Traffic Citations in Wichita- disproportionately affects poor communities/communities of color.
- Data from Fines & Fees Justice Center/KDMV/ WPD Traffic Citations and additional studies conducted.
- Statistics suggest that it is a "Profit Over Poverty" revenue-generating system. The Data suggest that because most of the tickets issued to minority drivers were for non-moving violations, and that minorities received citations 2Xs more than any other driver; these generating citations are not about being an UNSAFE Driver, but rather being an UNFORTUNATE driver.
- This board speaks for the 200,000 drivers in Kansas regardless of race whose DL has been suspended or revoked.
- ✓ The Kansas License-For-Pay DL system is a repressive system that holds hostage one's ability to maintain and sustain their livelihood and family.

- ✓ The Kansas License For- Pay DL system is not about being an unsafe driver, BUT more about being an unfortunate driver; because Kansas is one of 19 states that make it mandatory to suspend and or revoke DL for the inability to pay, IN ADDITION, DL is suspended and or revoked for an INDEFINITE period of time or until the balance is satisfied. Leaving some 200,000 Kansas drivers serving a "life sentence."
- ✓ The Kansas License-For-Pay System is not about being an unsafe driver, but an
 unfortunate driver in that the penalty is far greater than the crime.
- ✓ The Kansas License-For-Pay system is not about being an unsafe driver, BUT
 an unfortunate driver in that it perpetuates a cycle of fines, fees, DWS and
 Incarceration. After your 3rd DWS citation, Kansas Statutes require 90 days
 of jail time and \$1,500 fine. Again, perpetuating a cycle of debt and poverty.
- ✓ The Kansas License-For-Pay system is not about an unsafe driver, BUT an
 unfortunate driver- State using suspensions/revocations not as a means of
 achieving road safety, but as a tool to force compliance and collect fines, fees
 and restitution.
- ✓ The Kansas License-For-Pay system not about an unsafe driver, BUT an
 unfortunate driver-IN reality people without a license have a hard time
 obtaining work and maintaining work. In all practically, if you have no work,
 how can you pay your debts? We are not saying NO ACCOUNTABILITY;
 Studies show that people don't mind paying fines for traffic citations. But
 when the choice is paying the fine, or buying food and keeping shelter for your
 family, common-sense rules the later.
- This board makes a plea to this Legislative body simply pointing out the system's flaws and bringing attention to the city, and state government that Administrative and Legislative reform is WARRANTED and MUCH Needed. We ask that you pass HB2434 and its Amendments as part of that reform.
- The People, some 200,000 families in KANSAS are asking for help. It is not a case of not wanting to pay, but more of the inability to pay. Please, Stop the harm; Stop the cycle; Stop the HURT. Give the HELP! Passing HB 2434 and the Amendments will give that necessary HELP.