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TO: House Judiciary Committee  

FROM: Kansas Judicial Council – Aaron Brietenbach, Chief Attorney in the Sedgwick 
County District Attorney Office 

DATE: March 11, 2020 

RE: Testimony in Support of 2020 SB 405 Regarding Ignition Interlock Devices 
Motorized Bicycle Licenses 

 
 
 The Kansas Judicial Council (Council) and its DUI Advisory Committee (Committee) 
recommend the passage of SB 405. First, the bill would amend K.S.A. 8-235 to remove the ability 
for a first-time DUI offender to obtain a license to operate a motorized bicycle. Second, the bill 
would amend K.S.A. 8-1015 to implement a compliance-based removal system for drivers 
required to drive with an ignition interlock device (IID). Third, the bill would amend K.S.A. 8-1016 
to expand the IID indigency program to incorporate more IID users and establish a sliding scale 
for program costs. Fourth, the bill would amend K.S.A. 8-1567a to shorten the length of the IID 
period for a driver under the age of 21 years old.  
 
 The Council’s recommendations arose out of a study originally requested in May 2018 by 
Rep. Blaine Finch asking the Council to review Kansas’ statutes relating to driving under the 
influence. The amendments in SB 405 are part of the Committee’s most recent 
recommendations. The Committee’s study is ongoing. Topics that the Committee continues to 
work on include: credit for early installation of an IID, drugged driving, DUI sentencing 
requirements, and flying under the influence. 
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SEC. 1 – MOTORIZED BICYCLE LICENSES 
 
 K.S.A. 2019 Supp. 8-235(d)(3) allows a first-time DUI offender the opportunity to receive 
a license to drive a motorized bicycle.1 According to the Kansas Department of Transportation, 
because first-time DUI offenders can receive this license, Kansas is ineligible to receive $250,000 
in federal funding for the KDOT State Highway Safety Office to support the state’s ignition 
interlock program. The Kansas Department of Revenue Division of Vehicles reports that there are 
only 29 motorized bicycle licenses currently issued in Kansas, which has over 2,300,000 active 
driver’s licenses and identification cards. The Council recommends the deletion of K.S.A. 2019 
Supp. 8-235(d)(3) and (e) to eliminate motorized bicycle licenses for first-time DUI offenders in 
order to allow the state to qualify for the additional federal funding. 
 
 
SEC. 2 – 4  IGNITION INTERLOCK RESTRICTED DRIVERS 
 
Current Law 
 
 If a law enforcement officer requests a driver take a breath, blood, urine or other bodily 
substance test to determine the presence of drugs or alcohol, and the driver refuses to submit 
to the test, the Kansas Department of Revenue’s Division of Vehicles (the division) will take 
administrative action against the person’s driving privileges. The division will suspend the 
person’s driving privileges for one year. At the end of the suspension, the division then restricts 
the person’s driving privileges for two to ten years depending on the driver’s history of test 
refusal. During the restricted period, the driver may only drive a motor vehicle equipped with an 
ignition interlock device (IID).  
 

A similar process applies when a driver fails a breath, blood, or bodily fluid test, or is 
convicted of an alcohol or drug-related conviction.2 The driver is suspended for a period of time 
and then restricted to using an IID for another period. A chart from the division showing the 
timeframes for the suspension and restricted ignition interlock periods is attached. The required 
IID restricted period can range from 6 months to 10 years depending on the type of offense.3 

 
An IID is a tool that separates drinking from driving and allows impaired driving offenders 

to maintain conditional driving privileges. The purpose of the IID is to prevent drivers, who have 
consumed alcohol, from operating a motor vehicle if their breath alcohol content exceeds a set 
point (typically 0.02). Drivers must provide a breath sample by blowing into the IID and if the 
driver’s breath alcohol level is over the set point, the vehicle will not start. If the driver’s breath 
alcohol level is below the set point, the vehicle will start; however, while the vehicle is in 
operation, the IID will prompt the driver to provide additional breath samples (rolling retest). 
 
 

 
1 Motorized bicycle is defined in K.S.A. 8-126. 
2 “Alcohol or drug-related conviction” is defined in K.S.A. 8-1013(b). 
3 K.S.A. 8-1014. 
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Sec. 2 - Compliance-Based Removal 
 

 Under the current statutes, a licensee who installs an IID in his or her vehicle and 
maintains the IID for the required timeframe may remove the IID and have unrestricted driving 
privileges at the end of the IID period. The IID may show that the licensee drank alcohol and then 
tried to start his car every day for the last month of the IID required period; however, as long as 
the IID has been installed for the required number of months, the licensee may have the device 
removed and unrestricted driving privileges restored. The IID program is to prevent people from 
driving while impaired, and to help drivers modify their behavior. Continuing to drink alcohol and 
then attempting to start a vehicle despite having and using the IID for months, demonstrates that 
the driver has not yet learned not to drink and drive.  
 

Kansas should adopt a compliance-based removal system. The Committee reviewed and 
discussed many different compliance-based removal models. It recommends that before the IID 
can be removed and the person’s unrestricted driving privileges restored, the person must show 
that (1) he or she has had the IID installed for the required length of time, and (2) the driver has 
not had more than three standard violations and no serious violations in the 90 consecutive days 
prior to the driver’s application for reinstatement of unrestricted driving privileges. Standard and 
serious violations are defined on page 5 of the bill. 

 
At the end of the required IID period, the driver would request a certification from the IID 

provider certifying that the driver has not had more than three standard and no serious violations 
in the last 90 days. The driver would then provide the IID provider’s certification to the division 
along with the driver’s application for reinstatement of the person’s driving privileges. This 
system would put the burden on the driver to show a successful completion of the program, 
rather than requiring the division to develop a program to continually monitor the driver’s 
performance. This system also allows for the automatic extension of the driver’s IID period 
without intervention by the division. Even if the driver’s IID period is over, the IID restriction will 
remain on the driver’s licenses until the driver can show a period of 90 days without more than 
three standard violations and no serious violations.  

 
Sec. 3 – IID Indigency Program  
 
 According to the Kansas Department of Revenue’s Division of Vehicles (the division), 
about half of all Kansas drivers required to complete a period with an IID restricted license will 
successfully complete the IID program requirements and have their driver’s license privileges 
reinstated. The other half of drivers will remain either suspended or restricted indefinitely. The 
Committee reviewed the compliance data for drivers whose licenses were suspended or 
restricted due to an alcohol or drug related offense in 2014.  Forty-eight percent of the drivers 
failed to install the IID as required. Of the drivers who failed to install the IID, 75% received a 
subsequent driving offense, indicating that they were continuing to drive without the required 
IID. The division estimated that about half of the drivers who fail to complete the IID program do 
so because of the financial cost of the IID. Depending on the IID provider, the annual cost of an 
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IID ranges from $950 to $1,215. The annual cost does not include any fees incurred due to non-
compliance, including a lockout, tampering, or circumvention of the device. 
 

K.S.A. 2019 Supp. 8-1016(a)(5) requires the division adopt rules and regulations requiring 
all IID providers operating in Kansas to provide a credit of at least 2% of the gross program 
revenues in the state as a credit for those who are required to have an IID and who are indigent 
as evidenced by qualification for the federal food stamp program. In 2018, there were eight IID 
providers operating IID programs in Kansas. Each provider sets its own fees and manages its own 
indigency program. In 2018, there were 10,206 IID devices in operation in Kansas. The eight IID 
providers reported that only 290 people participated in the providers’ indigency programs. Each 
IID provider administered its indigency program differently. Some waived one-time fees (such as 
installation or removal fees) while others merely reduced the one-time fees. All providers 
reduced the monthly leasing and monitoring fee. None waived it completely. Therefore, even for 
those who qualified for the indigency program, the set annual cost of the IID ranged from $494 
to $915.4 

 
The IID indigency program is essential to allowing all drivers required to use an IID to 

participate and complete the IID program. The Committee reviewed other states’ IID indigency 
program structures and received input from the IID providers. The IID providers explained that in 
states with indigency programs where all IID related costs are waived, people are more likely to 
damage the IID.  

 
Kansas should adopt a sliding scale of payment based on the IID user’s household income. 

Kansas should also expand who qualifies for the program to include persons whose household 
income is up to 300% of the federal poverty level. The amendments in the bill would implement 
the following sliding scale. 

 
Proposed IID Indigency Program Sliding Scale 

Household Income Percentage of Program Costs User Must 
Pay 

Less than or equal to 300% but greater 
than 200% of the federal poverty level 

90% of the program costs plus any additional 
costs due to non-compliance 

Less than or equal to 200% but greater 
than 150% of the federal poverty level 

75% of the program costs plus any additional 
costs due to non-compliance 

Less than or equal to 150% but greater 
than 100% of the federal poverty level 

50% of the program costs plus any additional 
costs due to non-compliance 

Less than or equal to 100% of the federal 
poverty level 

25% of the program costs plus any additional 
costs due to non-compliance 

Persons eligible for the food assistance 
program pursuant to K.S.A. 39-709 

25% of the program costs plus any additional 
costs due to non-compliance 

 

 
4 All information regarding the 2018 IID usage and indigency programs provided by the Kansas Highway Patrol. 
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Currently, the IID providers receive the IID indigency program application and determine 
whether an individual qualifies for the program. The Council recommends the division, not the 
IID providers, determine eligibility for the program and the individual’s household income for the 
purposes of the sliding scale. 
 
Sec. 4 – IID Requirements for Drivers Under 21 Years Old 
 

There is an odd discrepancy with how the current statutes treat persons under 21 years 
old who drive with a blood or breath alcohol content (BAC) between 0.02 and 0.0799. On a first 
offense, if a person under 21 years old drinks and drives, the person will have a shorter ignition 
interlock period if the person is more intoxicated (BAC of 0.08 to 0.1499). If an under-21 driver’s 
BAC is between 0.02 and 0.0799, the required ignition interlock period is 330 days. If the person 
consumed more alcohol and the person’s BAC is higher, 0.08 to 0.1499, the required ignition 
interlock period is only 180 days.5 The Council recommends the ignition interlock period for a 
driver under the age of 21 with a lower BAC (0.02-0.0799) be amended to match the length of 
the ignition interlock period for the same driver with a higher BAC (0.08 – 0.1499). 

  
Driver Under 21 – 1st Occurrence 

 Current Statute Proposal 
Test Result BAC .02-.0799 30 Day Suspension 

330 Days Interlock 
30 Day Suspension 
180 Days Interlock 

Test result BAC .08 to .1499 
(without previous violations 

as listed in K.S.A. 8-
1015(b)(2)) 

30 Day Suspension 
180 days 

No change 

 
 
 
 
COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP 
 
 The members of the Judicial Council DUI Advisory Committee are: 
 

Rep. Brad Ralph, Chair; Dodge City, Kansas 
State Representative, 119th District and City Attorney for Dodge City  
 

Gregory Benefiel; McPherson, Kansas 
McPherson County Attorney 
 

Aaron Breitenbach; Wichita, Kansas 
Chief Attorney in the Sedgwick County District Attorney Office 
 

Hon. Cindi Cornwell; Overland Park, Kansas 
Overland Park Municipal Court Judge 

 
5 K.S.A. 8-1567a. 



Page 6 of 7 

 

Prof. Jeffrey Jackson; Topeka, Kansas 
Washburn University School of Law 
 

Corey Kenney; Topeka, Kansas 
Assistant Kansas Attorney General 
 

Ed Klumpp; Tecumseh, Kansas 
Retired Topeka Chief of Police 
 

Chris Mann; Lenexa, Kansas 
Mann Law Firm, Attorney and Member of the Kansas Sentencing Commission 
 

Jay Norton; Overland Park, Kansas 
Norton Hare Law Firm, Defense Attorney 
 

Hon. William Ossmann; Topeka, Kansas 
Shawnee County District Court Judge 
 

Jeremiah Platt; Manhattan, Kansas 
Clark & Platt Law Firm, Defense Attorney 
 

John Rapp; Wichita, Kansas 
Hinkle Law Firm, Defense Attorney 
 

Ted Smith; Topeka, Kansas 
Attorney for the Kansas Department of Revenue 
 

Roger Struble; Salina, Kansas 
Blackwell & Struble Law Firm, Defense Attorney
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Kansas Department of Revenue  
Alcohol Actions Chart 

 

Alcohol Actions For Drivers Under 21 
Chemical Test Result 1st Occurrence 2nd Occurrence 3rd Occurrence 4th Occurrence 5th Occurrence 

BAC .02-.0799 
Driving Record Code (A61) 

30 Day Suspension 
330 Days Interlock 

No Exam 

1 Year Suspension 
No Exam 

1 Year Suspension 
No Exam 

1 Year Suspension 
No Exam 

1 Year Suspension 
No Exam 

 
Alcohol Actions For Drivers Of All Ages  -  BAC .08 to .1499 

Chemical Test Failure 1st Occurrence 2nd Occurrence 3rd Occurrence 4th Occurrence 5th Occurrence 

BAC .08 to .1499 
Driving Record Code (A98) 

30 Day Suspension 
6 Month or 1 Year Interlock 
$200 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
1 Year Interlock 

$400 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
2 Year Interlock 

$600 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
3 Year Interlock 

$800 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
10 Year Interlock 

$800 Reinstatement Fee 

 
DUI Conviction 1st Occurrence 2nd Occurrence 3rd Occurrence 4th Occurrence 5th Occurrence 

BAC .08 to .1499 
Driving Record Code (A08) 

30 Day Suspension 
6 Month or 1 Year Interlock 
$200 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
1 Year Interlock 

$400 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
2 Year Interlock 

$600 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
3 Year Interlock 

$800 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
10 Year Interlock 

$800 Reinstatement Fee 

 
Vehicle Battery  - With DUI 1st Occurrence 2nd Occurrence 3rd Occurrence 4th Occurrence 5th Occurrence 
Conviction 
BAC .08 to .1499 
Driving Record Code (RK2) 

30 Day Suspension 
6 Month or 1 Year Interlock 
$200 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
1 Year Interlock 

$400 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
2 Year Interlock 

$600 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
3 Year Interlock 

$800 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
10 Year Interlock 

$800 Reinstatement Fee 

 
Alcohol Actions For Drivers Of All Ages  -  BAC .15 or Greater 

Chemical Test Failure 1st Occurrence 2nd Occurrence 3rd Occurrence 4th Occurrence 5th Occurrence 

BAC .15 or Greater 
Driving Record Code (A90) 

1 Year Suspension 
1 Year Interlock 

$200 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
2 Year Interlock 

$400 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
3 Year Interlock 

$600 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
4 Year Interlock 

$800 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
10 Year Interlock 

$800 Reinstatement Fee 

 
DUI Conviction 1st Occurrence 2nd Occurrence 3rd Occurrence 4th Occurrence 5th Occurrence 

BAC .15 or Greater 
Driving Record Code (A10) 

1 Year Suspension 
1 Year Interlock 

$200 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
2 Year Interlock 

$400 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
3 Year Interlock 

$600 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
4 Year Interlock 

$800 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
10 Year Interlock 

$800 Reinstatement Fee 

 
Vehicle Battery  - With DUI 1st Occurrence 2nd Occurrence 3rd Occurrence 4th Occurrence 5th Occurrence 
Conviction 
BAC .15 or Greater 
Driving Record Code (RK2) 

1 Year Suspension 
1 Year Interlock 

$200 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
2 Year Interlock 

$400 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
3 Year Interlock 

$600 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
4 Year Interlock 

$800 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
10 Year Interlock 

$800 Reinstatement Fee 

 
Alcohol Actions For Drivers Of All Ages  -  Chemical Test Refusal (Administrative) 

Chemical Test Refusal 1st Occurrence 2nd Occurrence 3rd Occurrence 4th Occurrence 5th Occurrence 

Administrative 
Driving Record Code (DI3) 

1 Year Suspension 
2 Year Interlock 

$600 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
3 Year Interlock 

$900 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
4 Year Interlock 

$1,200 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
5 Year Interlock 

$1,500 Reinstatement Fee 

1 Year Suspension 
10 Year Interlock 

$1,500 Reinstatement Fee 
 

Alcohol Actions For CDL Drivers  (Action is taken in addition to REGDL actions listed above) 
Administrative or Court 1st Occurrence 1st Occurrence (HazMat) 2nd Occurrence 
Conviction for a Chemical 
Test Refusal or Failure 

CDL Privileges are suspended 
for a period of 1 year 

CDL Privileges are suspended 
for a period of 3 years 

 
CDL Privileges are permanently revoked 

 

 
 

(Rev 11/07/2018) 

 
 
 
 

A driver will only be eligible for a 6 month interlock restriction for first occurrence Chemical Test Failures, DUI Convictions, Vehicle Battery With DUI 
Convictions, and Chemical Test Refusal Convictions with a BAC of .08 to .1499 and if their driving record does not show any major convictions, prior 

suspensions, revocations, or cancellations, or a culmination of 3 moving violations on separate occasions within a 12 month period. 


