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As part of any agreement entered into pursuant to this section, the board of education of a school district shall not be required to pay any amount of tuition and required fees that are waived for an eligible foster child pursuant to the foster child educational assistance act, K.S.A. 75-53,111, and amendments thereto, except that the board, in its discretion, may pay any related costs that are not waived pursuant to such act, including fees, books, materials and equipment, charged by an eligible postsecondary educational institution for the student's enrollment in such institution.
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Sec. 6. K.S.A. 75-53,112 is hereby amended to read as follows: 75-53,112. As used in the Kansas foster child educational assistance act:
(a) "Kansas educational institution" means and includes any community college, the municipal university, state educational institution, the institute of technology at Washburn university or technical college.
(b) "Eligible foster child" means anyone who: 
(1) (A) (i)   Is in the custody of the secretary and in a foster care placement on the date such child attained 18 years of age; (B) (ii) has been released from the custody of the secretary prior to attaining 18 years of age, after having graduated from a high school or fulfilled the requirements for a general educational development (GED) certificate while in foster care placement and the custody of the secretary; (C) (iii) is adopted from a foster care placement on or after such child's 16th birthday; or (D) (iv) left a foster care placement subject to a guardianship under chapter 38 or 59 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, on or after such child's 16th birthday; or 
(B)  is a student as defined under the Kansas challenge to secondary school students act, K.S.A. 72-3220 et seq., and amendments thereto, and was in the custody of the secretary and in foster care placement at any time such child was enrolled in grades nine through 12 at a school of a school district; and
(2) enrolls in a Kansas educational institution on or after July 1, 2006.
(c) "Kansas foster child educational assistance program" or "program" means the program established pursuant to the provisions of the Kansas foster child educational assistance act, which shall provide for: (1) Undergraduate enrollment of eligible foster children pursuant to subsection (b)(1)(A) through the semester the eligible foster child attains 23 years of age; or (2) undergraduate enrollment of eligible foster children pursuant to subsection (b)(1)(B) through the Kansas challenge to secondary schools act, K.S.A. 72-3220 et seq., and amendments thereto.
(d) "Educational program" means a program which that is offered and maintained by a Kansas educational institution and leads to the award of a certificate, diploma or degree upon satisfactory completion of course work requirements.
(e) "Secretary" means the secretary for children and families.
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