OVERVIEW OF KANSAS TAXES

Eddie Penner, Senior Economist

Special Committee on Economic Recovery, November 16-17, 2020





Kansas Legislative Research Department

Providing nonpartisan, objective research and fiscal analysis for the Kansas Legislature since 1934

Taxes



Property Tax
Retail Sales Tax
Individual Income Tax
Other Taxes



Base x Rate = Tax

Other Taxes



Compensating Use Corporation Income Privilege Tax Insurance Premiums Motor Vehicle Taxes Vehicle Registration Motor Carrier Property Tax **Motor Fuels Taxes**

Cigarette and Tobacco Taxes
Liquor Gallonage Tax
Liquor Enforcement Tax
Liquor Drinking Places
Tax
Severance Taxes
Transient Guest Taxes

Other Taxes, Continued



Corporation Franchise

Electronic Cigarette

Drug Stamp Tax

Prepaid Wireless 911 Fee

Sand Royalty Tax

Tire Tax

Vehicle Rental Excise Tax

Car Line Tax

Intangibles Tax

Water Protection Fee

Clean Drinking Water

Fee

Bingo Tax

Combative Arts Tax

Recreational Vehicle Tax

Boat Registration

Compensating Use Tax



Companion Tax to Sales Tax

Applies to transactions that might otherwise result in sales tax avoidance

State rate is 6.5% of taxable gross receipts

State receipts are projected to exceed \$500 million from this source for the first time in FY 2021

Corporation Income Tax



Applies to income for Subchapter C Corporations

Tax Base is Kansas Taxable Income

Tax rate is 4%, plus additional 3% on income over \$50,000

Income is apportioned using a three-factor formula

\$484.4 million in receipts in FY 2020

Privilege Tax



Applies to banks, trust companies and savings and loans.

Tax base is total net income

Tax rate is 2.25%, plus a surtax of 2.125% on banks and 2.25% on trust companies and savings and loans

Receipts were \$46.2 million in FY 2020

Vehicle Registration and Tax



Registration fees for passenger cars range from \$30 to \$40. Other vehicles have their own registration fees ranging from \$11 for motorized bicycles to over \$2,000 for the largest tractor trailers.

Property tax is also paid on motor vehicles at the time of registration. Tax rate is based on the countywide average tax rate, excluding the statewide 20 mill levy and is applied to a taxable value that is based on a depreciation value of the vehicle.

Registrations and taxes combined to approximately \$680 million in FY 2019.

Motor Carrier Property Tax



Prior to 2014, Kansas applied a property tax to forhire motor carriers operating in Kansas, both domestic and foreign

Since 2014, Kansas has applied a registration fee ranging from \$150 to \$400 based upon the gross weight and age of the vehicle.

Interstate operating vehicles may be apportioned.

This fee raises approximately \$12.5 million per year

Motor Fuels Taxes



Regular gasoline is taxed at \$0.24 per gallon and diesel at \$0.26 per gallon

Other fuels range from \$0.17 per gallon to \$0.26 per 6.06 pounds

Also includes trip permits in lieu of the motor fuel tax for certain interstate drivers

Proceeds were steady around approximately \$460 million prior to FY 2020

Cigarette and Tobacco Taxes



Cigarettes are taxed at \$1.29 per pack of 20 cigarettes and \$1.61 per pack of 25 cigarettes

\$116.5 million in receipts in FY 2020

Other tobacco products are taxed at 10% of the wholesale price of the product

\$9.2 million in receipts in FY 2020

Liquor Taxes



Liquor Gallonage – Imposed by the gallon on the initial manufacture of liquor. Rates range from \$0.18 per gallon of beer to \$2.50 per gallon of alcohol and spirits.

Liquor Enforcement – Imposed in lieu of sales tax at 8% the gross receipts of sales to consumers or clubs, establishments, and caterers.

Liquor Drink Tax – 10% on the gross receipts of sales by clubs, establishments, and caterers.

Combined total receipts were \$145.8 million in FY 2019.

Severance Taxes



4.33% of gross taxable value for oil and natural gas.

\$1 per ton for coal – but no taxpayers pay coal severance tax

\$34.8 million in receipts in FY 2020, but projected to decline to \$20.4 in FY 2021

Counties receive 7% of receipts

Transient Guest Tax



Applies when two or more bedrooms are rented for 28 days or less

Applies to gross receipts of the rental

Applies in addition to sales tax

Statewide receipts were just below \$50 million in FY 2019





Room 68-West—Statehouse Topeka, KS 66612-1504

Phone: (785) 296-3181

<u>kslegres@klrd.ks.gov</u>

kslegislature.org/klrd