Division of the Budget Landon State Office Building 900 SW Jackson Street, Room 504 Topeka, KS 66612

Larry L. Campbell, Director



Phone: (785) 296-2436 larry.campbell@ks.gov http://budget.kansas.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

February 6, 2020

The Honorable Richard Proehl, Chairperson House Committee on Transportation Statehouse, Room 581B-W Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Representative Proehl:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for HB 2539 by Representative Carmichael

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning HB 2539 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

HB 2539 would create traffic infractions for operating a vehicle while fatigued with a fine of \$75 and for the unlawful operation of an electric-assisted scooter with a fine of \$45.

The Office of Judicial Administration states enactment of HB 2539 could increase the number of cases filed in district court because it creates new violations for operating a vehicle while fatigued and for the unlawful operation of an electric-assisted scooter, which could result in more time spent by court employees and judges processing and deciding these cases. According to the Office, a fiscal effect cannot be estimated.

The Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT) indicates enactment of the bill would create two new traffic infractions with a fine of \$75 and a fine of \$45. The agency's Traffic Records Enhancement Fund currently receives 2.23 percent of all district court fines, penalties, and forfeitures, while the agency's Seat Belt Safety Fund receives 2.2 percent. KDOT estimates enactment of the bill could increase the amount of fines collected because of the new traffic infractions, which would increase revenues to both funds; however, KDOT is unable to estimate a fiscal effect because the agency does not have enough information to estimate how many citations would be issued. Any fiscal effect associated with HB 2539 is not reflected in *The FY 2021 Governor's Budget Report*.

Sincerely,

Larry L. Campbell

Director of the Budget

cc: Ben Cleeves, Transportation Mary Rinehart, Judiciary Lynn Robinson, Department of Revenue