Division of the Budget Landon State Office Building 900 SW Jackson Street, Room 504 Topeka, KS 66612

Larry L. Campbell, Director



Phone: (785) 296-2436 larry.campbell@ks.gov http://budget.kansas.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

January 30, 2020

The Honorable Caryn Tyson, Chairperson Senate Committee on Assessment and Taxation Statehouse, Room 123-E Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Senator Tyson:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for SB 297 by Senate Committee on Assessment and Taxation

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning SB 297 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

SB 297 would remove the authority of the Director of Property Valuation at the Department of Revenue to adopt rules and regulations prescribing appropriate standards for the performance of appraisals for property taxation. The bill would also remove language requiring appraisals to be performed in accordance with generally accepted appraisal standards promulgated by the Appraisal Standards Board of the Appraisal Foundation and would replace it with a requirement to comply with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP). Additionally, the bill would remove a county appraiser's authority to require compliance with additional standards and would require that if the Director requires compliance with additional standards that those additional standards do not conflict with USPAP.

The Department of Revenue indicates SB 297 would have no fiscal effect on state or local property tax revenues. The bill would have no fiscal effect on the operations of the Department of Revenue or the Board of Tax Appeals. The Kansas Association of Counties indicates that as USPAP standards change, appraisals have the potential to change which could affect the uniformity of appraisals in Kansas over time. However, the Association indicates that it is unclear how this would affect future property taxes collections that are used in part to fund local governments.

Sincerely,

Larry L. Campbell
Director of the Budget

cc: Jody Allen, Tax Appeals
Jay Hall, Association of Counties
Lynn Robinson, Department of Revenue