## HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6033

A RESOLUTION recognizing the 100th Anniversary of the League of Women Voters of the United States.

WHEREAS, On February 14, 1920, the League of Women Voters was founded as a forward-thinking experiment by the foremothers of the suffragist movement at the National American Women Suffrage Association; and

WHEREAS, The League's goal was to help the 20 million women who were granted the right to vote by the 19<sup>th</sup> Amendment understand and carry out their new responsibility as voters; and

WHEREAS, The success of its mission to empower voters and defend democracy, sustained by its tireless work over the last 100 years to uphold and further strengthen the mission, has made the League a trusted nonpartisan, grassroots organization; and

WHEREAS, The League has promoted legislation and fought in court to protect and strengthen voting rights for all Americans. Throughout its 100-year history, it has supported free and fair elections, civil rights, community health, and education; and

WHEREAS, The League has been recognized for providing nonpartisan election information, including sponsorship of candidate forums, for providing information on state and local ballot issues, and for continually reaffirming its commitment to register, educate, and mobilize voters; and

WHEREAS, The League continues to champion government systems that are open, transparent, inclusive, and equitable; and

WHEREAS, The League believes that active and engaged citizens, irrespective of gender, ethnicity, or political affiliation, are the hallmark of democracy: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That we recognize February 14, 2020, as League of Women Voters Day in honor of its 100<sup>th</sup> Anniversary and in recognition of its significant contributions to empowering voters and making democracy work.

House Resolution No. 6033 was sponsored by Representatives Dennis Highberger and Eileen Horn.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the House, and was adopted by that body

Speaker of the House.
Chief Clerk of the House.