## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1705**

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Angela Hamilton of Sedgwick County EMS for being named 2018 Paramedic of the Year by the National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians.

WHEREAS, On October 30, 2018, Angela Hamilton was declared recipient of the highly prestigious NAEMT/Nasco Paramedic of the Year Award by the National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians. The announcement was made as part of NAEMT's presentation of its 2018 National EMS Awards of Excellence; and

WHEREAS, Hamilton has worked with Sedgwick County EMS for the past 19 years. She began her career in EMS by serving with the department as a volunteer EMT. She began working full time with the department after earning her associates of applied science degree and her paramedic certification in 2001; and

WHEREAS, During her time with Sedgwick County EMS, Hamilton served in the capacity of team leader, inspiring other EMS crew members to become better clinicians. She also acted in the role of preceptor for paramedic students, demonstrating a commitment to the values of servant leadership that is second to none; and

WHEREAS, As an advocate and supporter of patient care and EMS education, Hamilton champions a "just culture" management philosophy, facilitating coworkers' personal safety while identifying areas for improvement; and

WHEREAS, In October 2017, Hamilton was promoted to her current position of QA education coordinator, with the rank of major, where she continues to foster leadership throughout the department while evincing a steadfast devotion to the EMS profession, her colleagues, and the surrounding community: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Angela Hamilton of Sedgwick County EMS for being named 2018 Paramedic of the Year by the National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians. Angela Hamilton exemplifies those qualities of leadership and excellence that we associate with the very best of Kansans. We applaud her tenacity and resolve, and we extend our best wishes for her continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send two enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Suellentrop.

Senate Resolution No. 1705 was sponsored by Senators Suellentrop, Baumgardner, Billinger, Braun, Denning, Francisco, Goddard, Hilderbrand, Longbine, Olson, Petersen, Pyle, Rucker, Skubal, Tyson, Wagle and Wilborn.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate