## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1724**

A Resolution congratulating and commending the 2019 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of Kansas' best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2019. These seven outstanding educators will be honored on Wednesday, April 3, with a day of receptions, seminars and tours at the sponsoring institution, Emporia State University; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2019 winners; and

WHEREAS, The 2019 Kansas Master Teachers are: Paula Barr, a second-grade teacher at Quail Run Elementary School in Lawrence; Dedra Braxmeyer, a mathematics teacher at Manhattan High School in Manhattan; Laura Gaughan, an elementary reading specialist at O'Loughlin Elementary School in Hays; Michelle Hilliard, a mathematics teacher at Complete High School in Maize; Lisa Jarvis, language arts teacher at Council Grove Junior-Senior High School in Council Grove; Carolynn Phalen, first-grade teacher at Grace E. Stewart Elementary School in Salina; and Linda Vena, elementary reading specialist at Mission Trail Elementary School in Leawood; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1954. The awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession long and well and who also exemplify the outstanding qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers; and

WHEREAS, Since 1980, Bank of America has pledged more than \$100,000 to permanently endow the Kansas Master Teacher Awards. In 1984, the Black family of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, established an endowed chair for Kansas Master Teachers. The fund provides a stipend to bring two Master Teachers to Emporia State University for part of a semester where they present to classes of education students; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Kansas Senate recognize the invaluable contributions of great teachers such as those being honored today. These 2019 Master Teachers serve as mentors and role models and lay the groundwork for the best educators of tomorrow. They go above and beyond what is expected and offer inspiration, as well as instruction. They teach with heart and soul, and by giving the best of themselves, they encourage students to give their best in return: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2019 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrating excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That we offer heartfelt thanks to these extraordinary educators who face so many challenges in the classroom each day, yet persevere, choosing the satisfaction of doing their best and overcoming the frustrations inherent in their jobs, and we extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send seven enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Longbine.

Senate Resolution No. 1724 was sponsored by Senator Jeff Longbine.  I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.