SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1751

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the members of the Buhler High School girls cross country team for their incredible performance at the 2019 State Cross Country Meet.

WHEREAS, The 2019 Buhler High School girls state cross country team roster includes Leah Bentley, Brityn Bobo, Daycee DeWindt, Amaleigh Mattison, Iris Rees, Lindsay Warner and Emma Willison; and

WHEREAS, The 2019 Buhler Crusaders girls cross country team is staffed by head coach Curtis Morgan and assistant coaches Andrea Pope, Chad Wahlgren and Adam Willis; and

WHEREAS, On November 2, 2019, the Buhler High School girls state cross country team competed in the State Cross Country Meet, capturing the Class 4A girls team state championship for the first time in school history; and

WHEREAS, Leah Bentley, Amaleigh Mattison and Emma Willison were named All-State runners. Bentley set a new school record with a time of 19:29.9 earlier in the season; and

WHEREAS, On the road to the state championship, the team won five out of nine meet titles, and was named both Ark Valley Chisholm Trail League and Regional champions for the third straight year; and

WHEREAS, During the season, head coach Morgan was selected by the Kansas Cross Country and Track & Field Coaches Association as the 4A Girls Cross Country Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, These athletic accomplishments are the product of hard work, dedication and teamwork that high school sports teach young Kansans: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the members of the Buhler High School girls cross country team for their incredible performance at the 2019 State Cross Country Meet; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send three enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Berger.

Senate Resolution No. 1751 was sponsored by Senator Edward E. Berger.	
I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate	e, and was adopted by that body
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate