
Revised Kansas Code for Care of Children Amendments; Family First Prevention 
Services Act; HB 2103

HB 2103 amends the Revised Kansas Code for Care of Children and enacts statutory 
provisions to enable the state to meet the requirements of the federal Family First Prevention 
Services Act (FFPSA). [Note: The FFPSA allows for an enhanced federal match rate toward the 
use of  Social  Security  Act  Title  IV-E funds for  certain  child  welfare system evidence-based 
prevention  services  and  programs beginning  October  1,  2019.]  The  bill  defines  a  qualified 
residential  treatment program (QRTP),  establishes notice and hearing requirements when a 
child  is  placed  in  a  QRTP,  requires  certain  action  to  be  taken  by  the  court  when  QRTP 
placement  occurs,  and  places  additional  documentation  requirements  on  the  court  in  a 
permanency hearing involving a child placed in a QRTP. 

Further, the bill  amends the definition of a secure facility and requires a copy of any 
prevention plan for a child to be attached to a child in need of care petition.

Definitions

A QRTP means  “a  program designated  by  the  Secretary  for  Children  and  Families 
[Secretary] as a qualified residential treatment program pursuant to federal law.” 

[Note:  The bill  also appears to amend the definition of a secure facility to exclude a 
juvenile  detention  facility.  However,  this  change  was  made  in  2018  legislation  and  the 
amendment in this bill reconciles different versions of the statute.]

QRTP Placement Notice and Hearing Requirements

Placement Notice

The Secretary is required to notify the court  in writing within seven days of a child’s 
placement in a QRTP. The bill  requires written notice also to be given to the petitioner;  the 
attorney for the parents, if any; each parent at the last known address; the child, if 12 years of 
age or older; the child’s guardian ad litem; any other party or interested party; and the child’s 
court-appointed special advocate.

Placement Hearing Requirements

Within 30 days after a child is placed in a QRTP, any person to whom written notice of 
such placement is required may request, in writing, the court conduct a hearing. If a hearing is 
requested, the court must conduct the hearing within 60 days of placement in a QRTP and 
provide  a  notice  of  hearing  to  the  persons  who  the  law  requires  receive  written  notice  of 
placement in a QRTP.

The Secretary must provide the court with a written assessment and documentation of 
the need for QRTP placement.
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Within 60 days of placement in a QRTP, the court is required to:

● Consider the assessment and documentation provided by the Secretary;

● Determine whether the needs of the child could be met through placement in a 
foster family home or whether QRTP placement provides the most effective and 
appropriate level  of  care for  the child  in  the least  restrictive environment and 
whether the QRTP placement is consistent  with the short-term and long-term 
goals specified in the child’s permanency plan; and

● Approve or disapprove QRTP placement.

Permanency Hearing Requirements for QRTP Placement

In addition to statutory findings and documentation requirements to be made by a court 
in  a  permanency  hearing,  the  bill  also  requires  the  court  to  document  the  following  in  a 
permanency hearing involving a child placed in a QRTP:

● The ongoing assessment of the child’s strengths and needs continues to support 
the determination that the child’s needs cannot be met through placement in a 
foster family home, QRTP placement provides the most effective and appropriate 
level of care for the child in the least restrictive environment, and the placement 
is  consistent  with  the  short-term and  long-term goals  specified  in  the  child’s 
permanency plan;

● The specific treatment or service needs that are met for the child through QRTP 
placement  and the  expected length  of  time the child  needs the  treatment  or 
services; and 

● The Secretary’s efforts to prepare the child to return home or be placed with a fit 
and willing relative, a legal guardian, or an adoptive parent or in a foster family 
home.

Additionally, the bill requires the court to set a subsequent permanency hearing within 60 
days of a finding that reasonable efforts have not been made by appropriate public or private 
agencies to rehabilitate the family and achieve the permanency goal in place at the time of the 
hearing, or the reasonable and prudent parenting standard has not been met. 
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