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8-2603. License	required;	application;	requirements;	bonding.	(a)	No	vehicle	title	service
agent	shall	engage	in	business	in	this	state	without	obtaining	a	license	as	required	by
this	act.
(b) An	application	for	a	license	shall	be	made	to	the	director	and	shall	contain	the
information	provided	for	by	this	section,	together	with	such	other	information	as	may
be	deemed	reasonable	and	pertinent,	and	shall	be	accompanied	by	the	required	fee.
The	application	shall	contain	the	name	of	the	applicant,	the	address	where	business	is
to	be	conducted,	the	resident's	address,	if	the	applicant	is	an	individual,	the	names
and	resident	addresses	of	the	partners	of	the	applicant,	if	a	partnership,	the	names
and	resident	addresses	of	the	principal	officers	of	the	applicant	and	the	state	of	its
incorporation,	if	a	corporation.	Every	application	under	this	section	shall	be	verified
by	the	applicant.
(c) All	licenses	shall	be	granted	or	refused	within	30	days	after	the	application	is
received	by	the	director.	If	the	division	issues	a	license	to	an	applicant,	the	applicant
shall	be	authorized	to	engage	in	the	business	only	at	the	address	specified	in	the
application.	All	licenses	shall	expire,	unless	previously	suspended	or	revoked,	on
December	31	of	the	calendar	year	for	which	they	are	granted.	Applications	for
renewals	received	by	the	director	after	February	15	shall	be	considered	as	new
applications.	The	license	fees	for	each	calendar	year,	or	any	part	thereof,	shall	be
$75.
(d) A	vehicle	title	service	agent	license	is	only	valid	to	the	person	to	which	it	is
issued	and	cannot	be	transferred.	Any	purchaser	or	transferee	of	a	vehicle	title
service	agency	must	make	application	for	a	new	vehicle	title	service	license	as
provided	by	this	act.
(e) The	applicant	or	licensee	shall	furnish	and	maintain	a	bond	in	the	amount	of
$25,000,	in	such	form	and	with	such	sureties	as	the	director	approves,	conditioned
upon	the	applicant	or	licensee	complying	with	all	the	requirements	for	the	lawful
obtaining	or	receiving	of	certificates	of	title	for	vehicles	and	as	indemnity	for	any	loss
sustained	by	reason	of	the	acts	of	the	person	bonded	when	such	acts	constitute
grounds	for	suspension	or	revocation	of	such	person's	license.	Every	bond	shall	be	a
corporate	surety	bond	issued	by	a	company	authorized	to	do	business	in	the	state	of
Kansas	and	shall	be	executed	in	the	name	of	the	state	of	Kansas	for	the	benefit	of	any
aggrieved	retail	or	wholesale	buyer	or	seller	of	a	vehicle.	The	aggregate	liability	of
the	surety	for	all	breaches	of	the	conditions	of	the	bond	in	no	event	shall	exceed	the
amount	of	such	bond.	The	surety	on	the	bond	shall	have	the	right	to	cancel	the	bond
by	giving	30	days'	notice	to	the	director,	and	thereafter	the	surety	shall	be	relieved	of
liability	for	any	breach	of	condition	occurring	after	the	effective	date	of	cancellation.
Upon	determination	by	the	director	that	a	judgment	from	a	Kansas	court	of
competent	jurisdiction	is	a	final	judgment	and	that	the	judgment	resulted	from	an	act
in	violation	of	this	act	or	would	constitute	grounds	for	suspension,	revocation,	refusal
to	renew	a	license	or	administrative	fine	pursuant	to	K.S.A.	2020	Supp.	8-2606,	and
amendments	thereto,	the	proceeds	of	the	bond	on	deposit	or	in	lieu	of	bond	provided
by	subsection	(f),	shall	be	paid.	The	determination	by	the	director	under	this
subsection	is	hereby	specifically	exempted	from	the	Kansas	administrative	procedure
act	(K.S.A.	77-501	through	77-549,	and	amendments	thereto,)	and	the	Kansas	judicial
review	act	(K.S.A.	77-601	through	77-627,	and	amendments	thereto).	Any	proceeding
to	enforce	payment	against	a	surety	following	a	determination	by	the	director	shall	be
prosecuted	by	the	judgment	creditor	named	in	the	final	judgment	sought	to	be
enforced.	Upon	a	finding	by	the	court	in	such	enforcement	proceeding	that	a	surety
has	wrongfully	failed	or	refused	to	pay,	the	court	shall	award	reasonable	attorney	fees
to	the	judgment	creditor.
(f) An	applicant	or	licensee	may	elect	to	satisfy	the	bonding	requirements	of
subsection	(e)	by	depositing	with	the	state	treasurer	cash,	negotiable	bonds	of	the
United	States	or	of	the	state	of	Kansas	or	negotiable	certificates	of	deposit	of	any
bank	organized	under	the	laws	of	the	United	States	or	of	the	state	of	Kansas.	The
amount	of	cash,	negotiable	bonds	of	the	United	States	or	of	the	state	of	Kansas	or
negotiable	certificates	of	deposit	of	any	bank	organized	under	the	laws	of	the	United



States	or	of	the	state	of	Kansas	deposited	with	the	state	treasurer	shall	be	in	an
amount	of	$25,000.	When	negotiable	bonds	or	negotiable	certificates	of	deposit	have
been	deposited	with	the	state	treasurer	to	satisfy	the	bonding	requirements	of
subsection	(e),	such	negotiable	bonds	or	negotiable	certificates	of	deposit	shall
remain	on	deposit	with	the	state	treasurer	for	a	period	of	not	less	than	two	years	after
the	date	of	delivery	of	the	certificate	of	title	to	the	vehicle	which	was	the	subject	of
the	last	transaction	in	which	the	licensee	engaged	prior	to	termination	of	the
licensee's	license.	In	the	event	a	licensee	elects	to	deposit	a	surety	bond	in	lieu	of	the
negotiable	bonds	or	negotiable	certificates	of	deposit	previously	deposited	with	the
state	treasurer,	the	state	treasurer	shall	not	release	the	negotiable	bonds	or
negotiable	certificates	of	deposits	until	at	least	two	years	after	the	date	of	delivery	of
the	certificate	of	title	to	the	vehicle	which	was	the	subject	of	the	last	transaction	in
which	the	licensee	engaged	prior	to	the	date	of	the	deposit	of	the	surety	bond.	The
cash	deposit	or	market	value	of	any	such	securities	shall	be	equal	to	or	greater	than
the	amount	of	the	bond	required	for	the	bonded	area	and	any	interest	on	those	funds
shall	accrue	to	the	benefit	of	the	depositor.
History: L.	2006,	ch.	51,	§	3;	L.	2010,	ch.	17,	§	22;	July	1.


