2020 Kansas Statutes

9-2211. Bonding requirements; minimum net worth requirements. (a) Each applicant or
licensee who maintains a bona fide office shall file with the commissioner a surety
bond in the amount of not less than $50,000, in a form acceptable to the
commissioner, issued by an insurance company authorized to conduct business in this
state, securing the applicant's or licensee's faithful performance of all duties and
obligations of a licensee meeting the following requirements:

(1) The bond shall be payable to the office of the state bank commissioner and shall
be in an amount established by the commissioner by rules and regulations adopted
pursuant to K.S.A. 9-2209, and amendments thereto;

(2) the terms of the bond shall provide that it may not be terminated without 30 days
prior written notice to the commissioner, provided that such termination shall not
affect the surety's liability for violations of the Kansas mortgage business act
occurring prior to the effective date of cancellation and principal and surety shall be
and remain liable for a period of two years from the date of any action or inaction of
principal that gives rise to a claim under the bond; and

(3) the bond shall be available for the recovery of expenses, fines and fees levied by
the commissioner under this act, and for losses or damages which are determined by
the commissioner to have been incurred by any borrower or consumer as a result of
the applicant's or licensee's failure to comply with the requirements of this act.

(b) Each applicant or licensee who does not maintain a bona fide office shall comply
with both of the following:

(1) File with the commissioner a surety bond in the amount of not less than
$100,000, in a form acceptable to the commissioner, issued by an insurance company
authorized to conduct business in this state, securing the applicant's or licensee's
faithful performance of all duties and obligations of a licensee meeting the
requirements set forth in subsections (a)(1), (a)(2) and (a)(3) of this section; and

(2) submit evidence that establishes, to the commissioner's satisfaction, that the
applicant or licensee shall at all times maintain a minimum net worth of $50,000.
Evidence of net worth shall include the submission of a balance sheet of the applicant
or a consolidated financial statement of the entity that owns or controls the applicant
accompanied by a written statement by an independent certified public accountant
attesting that the balance sheet or the consolidated financial statement has been
reviewed in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. Should the
applicant or licensee choose a different accounting system other than generally
accepted accounting principles, the burden to demonstrate that the accounting
principles meet or exceed the generally accepted accounting principles shall be on
the applicant or licensee using the alternate accounting principle method.

History: L. 1999, ch. 45, § 10; L. 2001, ch. 88, § 11; L. 2005, ch. 144, § 5; L. 2009, ch.
29,810; L. 2016, ch. 15, § 8; L. 2017, ch. 52, § 11; July 1.



