2020 Kansas Statutes

22-4507. Compensation and reimbursement of expenses for services to indigents; procedures
for payment; exemption from fees for electronic access to court records. (a) An attorney,
other than a public defender or assistant public defender or contract counsel, who is
appointed by the court to perform services for an indigent person, as provided by
article 45 of chapter 22 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto,
shall at the conclusion of such service or any part thereof be entitled to compensation
for such services and to be reimbursed for expenses reasonably incurred by such
person in performing such services. Compensation for services shall be paid in
accordance with standards and guidelines contained in rules and regulations adopted
by the state board of indigents' defense services under this section.

(b) Claims for compensation and reimbursement shall be certified by the claimant
and shall be presented to the court at sentencing. A supplemental claim may be filed
at such later time as the court may in the interest of justice determine if good cause is
shown why the claim was not presented at sentencing. In accordance with standards
and guidelines adopted by the state board of indigents' defense services under this
section, all such claims shall be reviewed and approved by one or more judges of the
district court before whom the service was performed, or, in the case of proceedings
in the court of appeals, by the chief judge of the court of appeals and in the case of
proceedings in the supreme court, by the departmental justice for the department in
which the appeal originated. Each claim shall be supported by a written statement,
specifying in detail the time expended, the services rendered, the expenses incurred
in connection with the case and any other compensation or reimbursement received.
When properly certified and reviewed and approved, each claim for compensation and
reimbursement shall be filed in the office of the state board of indigents' defense
services. If the claims meet the standards established by the board, the board shall
authorize payment of the claim.

(c) Such attorney shall be compensated at the rate of $80 per hour, except that:

(1) The chief judge of any judicial district may negotiate an hourly rate less than $80
per hour for attorneys who voluntarily accept appointments in that district; or

(2) contract counsel shall be compensated at the rate or rates specified in the
contract between the board and the assigned counsel.

If the state board of indigents' defense services determines that the appropriations
for indigents' defense services or the moneys allocated by the board for a county or
judicial district will be insufficient in any fiscal year to pay in full claims filed and
reasonably anticipated to be filed in such year under this section, the board may
adopt a formula for prorating the payment of pending and anticipated claims under
this section.

(d) The state board of indigents' defense services may make expenditures for
payment of claims filed under this section from appropriations for the current fiscal
year regardless of when the services were rendered.

(e) The state board of indigents' defense services shall adopt rules and regulations
prescribing standards and guidelines governing the filing, processing and payment of
claims under this section.

() An attorney, other than a public defender, assistant public defender or contract
counsel, who is appointed by the court to perform services for an indigent person and
who accesses electronic court records for an indigent person, as provided by this act,
shall be exempt from paying fees to access electronic court records.
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