2020 Kansas Statutes

47-825. Examinations; rules and regulations; notice of results; recordation and issuance of
license. (a) The board shall provide for at least one examination during each year and
may provide for such additional examinations as are necessary. A person desiring to
take an examination shall make application at least 60 days before taking the
examination.

(b) The preparation, administration, reexamination and grading of the examination
shall be governed by the rules and regulations prescribed by the board. Examinations
shall be designed to test the examinee's knowledge of and proficiency in the subjects
and techniques commonly taught in schools of veterinary medicine and the laws and
rules and regulations dealing with the practice of veterinary medicine in Kansas. The
board may adopt and use the examinations prepared by any national testing service
for veterinary medicine. The examination of applicants for license to practice
veterinary medicine shall be conducted according to methods deemed by the board to
be the most practical and expeditious to test the applicant's abilities and
qualifications. The minimum passing scores shall be established by rules and
regulations.

(c) After each examination, the executive director shall notify each examinee in
writing of the result of the examinee's examination within 60 days, and the board
shall issue a license to each applicant for a license who has successfully completed
the examination. The executive director shall record each new license and issue a
license to each new licensee. Any applicant for examination who does not attend the
examination shall forfeit the examination fee.

History: L. 1969, ch. 261, § 12; L. 1980, ch. 155, § 9; L. 1993, ch. 129, § 11; L. 1999,
ch. 25, § 7; L. 2001, ch. 30, § 3; L. 2006, ch. 112, § 3; July 1.



