2020 Kansas Statutes

49-621. Same; civil penalties; amount; procedures. (2) The director, upon finding that the
operator has failed to comply with any provision of this act, any provision of a
reclamation plan or any condition of a license or site registration with which the
operator is required to comply pursuant to this act, may impose upon the operator a
civil penalty not exceeding $1,000 for each day of noncompliance.

(b) All civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall be due and payable
within 35 days after written notice of the imposition of a civil penalty has been served
upon whom the penalty is being imposed, unless a longer period of time is granted by
the director or unless the operator appeals the assessment as provided in this section.
(c) No civil penalty shall be imposed under this section except upon the written
order of the director or the director's designee to the operator upon whom the
penalty is to be imposed, stating the nature of the violation, the penalty imposed and
the right of the operator upon whom the penalty is imposed to appeal to the director
for a hearing on the matter. An operator upon whom a civil penalty has been imposed
may appeal, within 15 days after service of the order imposing the civil penalty, to the
director. If appealed, a hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions
of the Kansas administrative procedure act. The decision of the director shall be final
unless review is sought under subsection (d).

(d) Any action of the director pursuant to this section is subject to review in
accordance with the Kansas judicial review act.

History: L. 1994, ch. 197, § 21; L. 2010, ch. 17, § 96; July 1.



